Recent Searches

Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour

star-3.5813 Reviews
Wien, Austria
Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Explore the magnificent city of Vienna on this city tour by coach, including admission into the Schönbrunn Palace without waiting time. Pass major attractions like the Hofburg Palace, City Hall, and the Vienna State Opera as you drive along the famed Ringstrasse. Afterward, explore the lavish summer home of the Habsburg monarchs, the Schönbrunn Palace. Skip the line at the entrance and learn the rich stories of its residents as you stroll from room to room.
  • Skip-the-line access to Schönbrunn Palace
  • Vienna highlights coach tour plus visit to the Schönbrunn Palace
  • Drive the Ringstrasse to see the Vienna State Opera, City Hall and Hofburg Palace, former winter home of the Habsburgs
  • Visit the magnificent Schönbrunn Palace, the Habsburg summer residence
  • Explore the staterooms where the royals lived, with an expert guide
  • Get free time to stroll the gardens or enjoy coffee and a snack (both at own expense)
Saved to wishlist!
City tour with Vienna’s most important sights
No waiting time at Schönbrunn Palace
Guided tour of the State Rooms
Free time at your disposal (approx. 40 min.)
Food and drinks
Operngasse 8 , Operngasse 8, 1010 Wien, Austria

Meeting point is 15-10 minutes before departure in front of the Opera Fountain at the Vienna State Opera. Take the lines U1 (red), U2 (purple) or U4 (green) to station "Karlsplatz". Follow the exit "Oper" and walk left along the Vienna State Opera to get to Operngasse.

9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Your tour begins at the Vienna State Opera. Hop aboard your coach, where you are welcomed by your local guide.

Drive along the Ringstrasse, a boulevard showcasing some of Vienna’s most stunning architecture. Hear the rich history behind Austria’s ‘Opera Ball’ as you pass the Vienna State Opera.

You also see the neoclassical design of the Austrian Parliament, City Hall, Burgtheater, and the Museum of Art History. Witness the grandeur of the Hofburg Palace, where Marie Antoinette was born in 1755.

After exploring the city by coach, hop out on foot to roam the Baroque Schönbrunn Palace, where the Habsburgs spent their summers. Skip the line and access Schonbrunn Palace with your local guide without waiting time. Comprising 1,441 rooms, follow your guide through the lavish interior and discover the stories behind this UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Afterward, soak up some free time to walk the gardens, or head to the cafe to purchase a coffee or strudel.
Pass By:  
Wiener Staatsoper
Pass by the Vienna State Opera on a guided bus tour through Vienna.
Pass By:  
Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna
Pass by the Kunsthistorisches and Natural Museum of History on a guided bus tour through Vienna.
Pass By:  
The Hofburg
Pass by the Imperial Palace on a guided bus tour through Vienna.
Pass By:  
Pass by the City Hall on a guided bus tour through Vienna.
Stop At:  
Schonbrunn Palace
Skip the line and get a live guided tour through the Schönbrunn Palace.
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Tour can be operated in more than 1 language
  • Please note on few dates in high season, due to popularity of the tour, transport could be on a double decker
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Vienna Sightseeing Tours Wiener Rundfahrten GmbH & Co.KG
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour.
What is the social distancing policy during Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "don't be late from assigned time and always ask because there are many traveling groups depart from the same meet up point." See review
  • "Over all it is worth to pay for skip the line for visiting the staterooms" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews


813 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 813 reviews
Not English and Not historical
, Aug 2022
Memorable was the fact that the guide barely gave what I would call “historical” city tour - most of his mentions were about the hotels for some reason. (I asked him later if we’d get any more history of Vienna on the way back, to which he said there’s no way to give the full history of Vienna since there’s so much. But a summary would’ve been nice, it really doesn’t matter which is the most recent American hotel built! Also, he spoke 3 languages on the English tour, so we really got 1/3 of his time. When someone asked him if he could speak English since this was booked as English tour, he said it’s not possible since he’s got 3 languages he’s got to cover. This was our 4 Viator Tour for this 3 week trip across 5 countries in Europe and they all were exceptional except this one - it didn’t even come close to the same standards as the others. Not Viator quality in my opinion!
Nice way to see sights
, Aug 2022
Take advantage of free time to view gardens—largest we’ve seen. Right amount of time for guided tour with gift shop browsing time too. Pick up and drop off in central location.
1 traveler found this review helpful
A terrible experience!!
, Aug 2022
The guide, Elenor has been quite rude and condescending, all throughout the tour. She herded and treated us like a bunch of pigs. The castle tour was so much rushed to the level that we could not enjoy the things we see. She gave us very little time to ask questions on our way back but then answered with such condescension that made us feel like she is a racist. She was coughing all through the tour on the bus. I was wondering if she was infected if COVID and wore a mask.
Horrible guide, and service
, Jul 2022
This is not a tour for young families or families with teens. The guide was very very boring, hard to understand sometimes rude. And, she was always rushing everyone. Almost everyone in group of 25 people was frustrated. To top that, they ditched us at the bus stop even though we were at the bus stop by 1240pm as designated. We had to taxi back to the starting point. Their instructions are hard to understand, and the guide gets viaibly irritated to repeat instructions despite many in the group unable to understand them.
The most boring tour guide ever
, Jul 2022
The tour guide we had was so dull I fell asleep on the bus. He spoke in a monogamous voice no inflections no humor no genuine enthusiasm. At the palace there was construction work so we couldn’t even take decent photos. The tour guide was also rather rude and unfriendly.
I would recommend to a friend
, Jun 2022
I really liked the bus tour of the main sights before we got to the palace. The guide was really good and he spoke 3 languages. He toured the palace in groups based on languages and while waiting you could explore the grounds.
Beautiful palace in and out
, Jun 2022
Inside of the palace is full of history n beauty local guide bringing us in and show us all details and stories ... excellent n learnt a lot
Great introduction to Vienna!
, May 2022
Thomas was a fantastic tour guide. The bus tour around the ring was very informative. We enjoyed our tour of Schönbrunn Palace and coffee and cake at the cafe. Highly recommended!
Waste of time and money!
, May 2022
Waste of time and money! Although this was an English speaking tour, during the bus ride the tour guide was trying to speak three languages at the same time: German, Spanish and English. This was very confusing because by the time she switched to English the bus had already passed the point of interest. We had to guess what she was talking about. We felt like we lost 2/3 of our time on a tour because we had to listen the same sentence repeated trice. When we were inside the Palace the guide was very reluctant to answer our questions and spoke with quiet voice so that I missed some of her presentation. Very disrespectful to your guests. We were very disappointed with this tour.
Great experience for both of us
, May 2022
The guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable, his language skills were brilliant as he was able to Describe everything about the bus tour and the palace to all nationalities on the tour
A boring bus tour of Vienna and brief interior tour of the Schonbrunn Palace
, May 2022
We were disappointed with this tour of Schonbrunn Palace. The guide was mediocre and felt rushed all the time, first explaining things in German and briefly in English. When we arrived she didn't let anyone use the restrooms at the main gate entrance so we had to walk a very far distance back from the palace gardens tour. Inside the palace was very packed with tourists, so it was very hard to hear the guide on the headset. I would not recommend this tour because driving around the city was absolutely boring and wasted our time which could've been spent at the palace.
, Apr 2022
Average experience. We were shown empty rooms, in a small space. There was communtary from the local tour guide but all-in-all we could have better spent our money elsewhere. We did not have an opportunity to view the outside of the palace, Strangely enough, the in-laid parquet flooring in the palace rooms was magnificent, and was my most memorable take-away.
The whole experience was...
, Apr 2022
The whole experience was enjoyable , with Erik a multi-lingual and very knowledgable tour guide for both historical and current-day Vienna . Recommended.
Nice Tour with Knowledgeable Guide
, Oct 2021
We enjoyed the palace tour and were given ample free time to roam the grounds after. We were a little disappointed it wasn't an English language only tour.
Great tour
, Oct 2021
Great tour. Would take it again. Tour leader was very knowledgeable and spoke great English. She was great
Great if you don't want to spend all day
, Sep 2021
Good option if you just want a fairly quick tour with a good guide who knows his stuff. The palace and gardens are lovely but you won't have a huge amount of time there. The palace tour is informative for sure and you also get some background and information on sights along the way while on the bus.
Lack of customer service
, Aug 2021
Awful awful service and direction advice on how and where to meet. There were no associates wearing “yellow attire”. So you can Spot them. Company would t work with us at all on a refund
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Jason, we would like to say thank you sharing your experiences with us. Your opinion is precious for us, so that if you could send us more details of what happened at, we can forward it to the departure being concerned and be able to make the required steps. Apart from all we hope, that you had great time in Vienna and we can welcome you back soon. Have a nice week, your VIENNA SIGHTSEEING Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
Palace tour
, Aug 2021
It was cool to see the palace but our tour guide was rude overall. She had a lot of good info but how rude she was to me and others took away from the experience.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Chris, many thanks for your time sharing your opinion with us. Your feedback is precious for us and we put great emphasis on our clients' experiences being able to improve our services. We are really sorry, that you had uncomfortable experiences with our guide, but apart from all, we hope, that you had great time in Vienna and we can welcome you to our beautiful capital soon. Have a nice week, your VIENNA SIGHTSEEING Team
Both the tour and the visit to the Palace.
, Mar 2020
The guide was very good indeed and very interesting. We enjoyed the tour immensely as it gave us background before our visit to the Palace. The interior of the Palace was very impressive.
Best way to visit Schönberg
, Feb 2020
Save your sanity and time and skip the line. This tour is worth every cent. Knowledgeable guide, too. And the bus tour is a great way to get to know the city when you arrive as a first time visitor.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour
Skip-the-Line Schonbrunn Palace Guided Tour and Vienna Historical City Tour


3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours 35 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations