Recent Searches
Clear

Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice

|
Venezia, Italy
Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice

From $150.25 per group (up to 2)

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon25 to 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Treat a loved one to the ultimate Venice experience with a private, 30-minute gondola ride along the Grand Canal and smaller side canals. Pass elegant Venetian palaces, colorful facades, and some of Venice’s most iconic landmarks. This private gondola tour is perfect for capturing photos of your time in Venice, and both morning and evening departures are available.
  • 30-minute private gondola ride
  • Romantic experience, perfect for couples
  • Ideal for special occasions: birthdays, anniversaries, and proposals
  • Experience a piece of Venice history and culture
  • Morning and afternoon departures available
Saved to wishlist!
Approx 30 minutes private gondola ride
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drink
This is not a guided Gondola ride
Campiello Traghetto, 2467 , Campiello Traghetto, 2467, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

Meeting point: 15 min before the departure time at the gondola station of Santa Maria del Giglio, next to the Gritti Palace Hotel.

This activity will end right where it started.
Book your Venice gondola experience in advance, and experience the city at its most romantic. Simply make your way to a dock in central Venice (exact location will be available after booking), arriving 10 minutes prior to departure time. 

Soak up the atmosphere as your gondolier poles the longboat along the Grand Canal, which has been the bustling heart of the city for centuries. Turn off the Grand Canal to explore the quieter waterways where many Venetians live, and take advantage of your personal tour to chat with the gondolier, or ask any questions you have about Venetian history and culture.

This 30-minute tour concludes at the original departure point, at a dock in central Venice.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Grand Canal
Pre-book your gondola tour for just the two of you! Enjoy a 30-minute relaxing journey through the tranquil canals of Venice, away from the tourists and see Venice as it should be seen. Glide through centuries of history, allowing yourself to be captivated by the glamour and elegance of the Venetian Palazzi. The perfect way to appreciate the beauty, charm and colour of this unique city built on water. Board your private gondola and emerse yourself in this ancient Venetian tradition, experience Venice as the locals have for more than a thousand years. On this unique exploration of the Venetian romantic canals, unwind and relax into the gentle rhythms and movements of the Grand Canal, appreciating the skill involved in steering the gondola through the intricate waterways of the city. As you sit back and take in the views, you will inevitably become involved in the friendly banter of the gondoliers - as much a part of Venetian culture as the gondola itself! This charming tour will take you one step closer to the romantic facades of Venice and will enable you to understand what it was to be truly Venetian.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Gondola Station - Santa Maria del Giglio
Departure and drop off for the tour
Pass By:  
Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute
Santa Maria della Salute is a Roman Catholic church and minor basilica located at Punta della Dogana in the Dorsoduro sestiere of the city of Venice. It stands on the narrow finger of Punta della Dogana, between the Grand Canal and the Giudecca Canal, at the Bacino di San Marco, making the church visible when entering the Piazza San Marco from the water. In 1630, Venice experienced an unusually devastating outbreak of the plague. As a votive offering for the city's deliverance from the pestilence, the Republic of Venice vowed to build and dedicate a church to Our Lady of Health. The dome of the Salute was an important addition to the Venice skyline and soon became emblematic of the city, inspiring artists such as Canaletto, J. M. W. Turner, John Singer Sargent, and the Venetian artist Francesco Guardi.
Pass By:  
Peggy Guggenheim Collection
The Peggy Guggenheim Collection is a modern art museum on the Grand Canal in the Dorsoduro sestiere of Venice, Italy. It is one of the most visited attractions in Venice.
Pass By:  
Scala Contarini del Bovolo
The Palazzo Contarini del Bovolo is a small palazzo in Venice, Italy, best known for its external multi-arch spiral staircase known as the Scala Contarini del Bovolo.The twenty-eight-metre high cylindrical tower containing the spiral staircase is chromatically characterised by the alternation of red cotto bricks and white Istria stone unravelling in the six floors of loggias curling up the bovolo’s eighty steps.
Pass By:  
Teatro La Fenice
Teatro La Fenice is an opera house in Venice. It is one of the most famous and renowned landmarks in the history of Italian theatre and in the history of opera as a whole.La Fenice Opera House opened its history on May 16, 1792 on the occasion of La Festa della Sensa. It has risen two times from its ashes and water. Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, Verdi, Stravinsky, Prokofiev, Britten, Nono, Maderna and in recently times Kagel, Guarnieri, Mosca, Ambrosini, Perocco have composed numerous works performed here for the first time. The Malibran Theater is our second home. It was designed by Tommaso Bezzi. It was built in place of the Marco Polo residence, destroyed after a violent fire that occurred in 1597 and was inaugurated during the carnival of 1678. In 1992 it was acquired by the Venice Municipality.
Pass By:  
Ponte de le Ostreghe
Small, lovely bridge over Rio de l'Alboro, in sestiere San Marco.Its name probably comes from the oyster market that was located in the area.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is not guided, although the gondolier may chat and give you some local history
  • Check in is 15 minutes prior to the booked tour start time
  • For all late arrivals or no show, no refund
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Venice Events srl
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "You'll need to take a water taxi to get to the train." See review
  • "I know this is more on the pricey side, but if you are on your honeymoon, definitely worth the experience!" See review

Reviews

3.0
star-3
68 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews
star-1
Gondola Rip-off
Lynne_L
, Jun 2022
Total rip-off! Do NOT do this 15 minute short unattractive loop. There are many gondolas all over Venice that you can book and have a far lovelier experience for far less $. Viator you should be ashamed of yourself this took away all your credibility as a quality tour operator. I want my money back.
star-1
Poor value
Jason_H
, May 2022
Do not pre-book. Many options to book a ride as you walk around. Plus, you can select driver and location
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Disappointed
Nicola_B
, Apr 2022
Was unable to reschedule on the day of....had to repay again....very disappointing, especially seeing they were not busy....will not purchase again
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Nicola, your original booking was at 10.00 am You called us only at 9.55 am asking to reschedule and we were really kind to accept such a LAST MINUTE time change. We moved the reservation at 10.30 am (time that you agreed). You were a no show at 10.30 am and you arrived at the gondola station at 12.00 pm not advising for your second late arrival of the day. At this point you were 2 hours in late and the gondoliers charged the service. This is the real reason that you have paid twice the service.
star-5
Wonderful ride!
Stephanie_R
, Oct 2021
Wonderful ride! The gondolier did a wonderful job making sure you were comfortable and showed us beautiful sites along the way! Was exactly a 30 minute ride and because of the public transport strike, we would of had to walk 20 minutes to our hotel across the way and he offered to take us there instead so we wouldn’t have to walk! Very nice and beautiful sunset to end our ride!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Stephanie, thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to have you back in Venice soon. Kindest regards Venice Events team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great but no thanks to Viator
Andrew_G
, Sep 2020
Excellent but no thanks to Viator. Our confirmation stated to be at gondola stop at 12:00 where we would meet a rep. We were there at 11:45, by 12 still no show from Viator rep. I asked a gondolier who kindly helped us out, took us to another stop and we had a lovely trip.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Don’t use - pay when there
Kevin_B
, Sep 2020
27 minutes total time and taken down waters that has nothing that you could say worth seeing at all. I’d wait and book yourself when in Venice paying direct around €80. Never fiver negative about Viator before and have used Viator many times in past.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Kevin, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the tour. The duration for this tour is 30 min, but during the ride can happen to do few minutes more or less, in fact in the tab "inclusions" it's written "Approx 25-30 minutes private gondola ride". It's weird to read that you have not seen nothing that you could say worth seeing at all, we think that Venice is beautiful in every corner. We hope that you had a nice stay in Venice Best regards Venice Events
star-5
Must do in Venice!
Lucy_H
, Sep 2020
Our gondolier was lovely and told us facts about Venice as we floated around. The grand canal was beautiful and peaceful, it was funny watching the gondoliers try and pass each other and turn corners in the smaller canals - lots of skill involved! We were in the gondola a little over the time we expected which was a good surprise. A great experience!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Lucy, we thank you for this positive feedback and we hope to have you back in our wonderful city again Best regards from Venice
star-4
Decent Experience
Explorer373431
, Nov 2019
Overall we had a decent time with the Gondola ride. I think it really does depend on your gondolier as to whether they sing or chat. Our Gondolier wasn't chatty. Additionally know that you'll spend 90% of the time going through various small canals and rather limited time in the grand canal. You get what you pay for though, if you want a lengthy engaging ride you'll need to pay a decent amount of money.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Partner, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are happy to see that you had a good experience with us. Kind regards, Venice Events
star-5
Fantastic!
Pamela_W
, Nov 2019
Such an attentive staff! They went above and beyond to make this experience one to remember. Our gondola driver was extraordinary! I know this is more on the pricey side, but if you are on your honeymoon, definitely worth the experience!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Pamela, Thank you for your awesome review. We are are really happy to see that you had an awesome experience with us and we look forward in seeing you again touring with us. Kind regards, Venice Events Team.
star-1
Gondola not good book elsewhere
Slipperyhills
, Oct 2019
Booked this as a surprise for my partner and the person in charge said they’d stopped giving out Prosecco in August. The gondolier took us into a side canal and was on he’s phone via Bluetooth the entire time he turned right and pointed out the opera house then turned right again and we were back out on the main lagoon and he pointed at a church on the opposite island, he then had to go slow and we were overtaken by other gondoliers as he was hanging out for the half hour ride There are better and cheaper gondolas locates all round so don’t book this and just go into the back streets around st marks square and you’ll find a decent and cheaper gondola
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your Feedback. Since the 9th of August it's forbidden to drink any type of alcoholic drinks inside the gondola. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the tour. We do our very best to make sure the gondoliers offer a quality service. We will certainly be discussing this with them at our next meeting. Best regards, Venice Events Team.
star-5
awesome experience
Joseph_K
, Oct 2019
Viator did a great job getting us on the gondola ride. They are very professional and made sure we were taken care of. Awesome experience on this ride for two.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Joe, Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you had a nice experience with us on our private gondola ride and we look forward in seeing you again. Kind regards, Venice Events Team.
star-1
dont waste your money!!!
David H
, Oct 2019
after watching other gondolas all week we were excited to have a romantic ride on the last night of our trip. turned out to be the exact opposite! we were lead to the worst looking boat in the fleet, our driver had the personality of a turnip, he barely said a word to us because he was too busy eating and drinking from a plastic bottle that he crinkled the whole ride, and he came back after only 20 min (10 min) short. I would never use this outfit again!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
We are sorry you did not enjoy your ride and will pass your comments onto the Gondoliers at our next meeting and hope that we can improve there service.
star-1
Overpriced
Priya P
, Sep 2019
My husband and I booked a bunch of viator tours for our trip to Italy and most of them were great. This specific tour is definitely a rip off though as other mentioned. The gondala drivers will take you and whoever you want on the same private tour from the same port for 80 euros which is far less than the $155 USD I paid. We heard another couple talk to our same driver and he said only 80 euro for the same. I'm guessing the tour group pockets the remainder of the money but you could basically take two trips.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Priya, Thank you for your feedback. We will take in consideration your suggestions about the price. Kind regards, Venice Events Team.
star-1
Waste of time.
Live-Life-MicNic
, Aug 2019
We were supposed to get a bottle of Prosecco and two glasses but were told that it had recently been made illegal to drink on the gondolas. I asked if they were just going to let us take a bottle (they had a few bottles in their office refrigerator) and the fellow doing the dispatching just laughed, Our ride was supposed to start at 6 and we got on at 5:58. I tried talking to the guy rowing the gondola but he said he didn't speak any English, He rowed about as slow as he could up the channel. We were passed by 3 other gondolas along the way. We went around about one city block then came up the canal and he parked it at 6:17. I said something to my wife about what a rip off that was and then he said, in perfect english ..., "The time starts when you get on." I told him what time we got on and what time it was when we parked and he just shrugged his shoulders. Total waste of money. I am going to try to see if I can get my money back if I can figure out how to request that on the Viator site.
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Gondola ride
Mary F
, Aug 2019
Once you get top the location you still have to wait on line. There will be a bunch of other people with the same time slot. It depends what gondolier you get. Some will sing or tell you about what you're seeing. Ours didn't talk, he just smoked during the ride. This tour also was supposed to include prosecco. We never received it. If you are supposed to get any extras make sure you ask about it before get in the gondola. We thought they would have put it inside the gondola before we got on but they didn't! If you are taking a day trip, the meeting point for the gondola is 30 minutes from the train stop. You'll need to take a water taxi to get to the train.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Mary, Thank you for your feedback. Since the 9th of August its forbidden to drink any type of alcohol inside the gondola. The gondolier is not a guide so he is not obligated to give any type of informations. Kind regards, Venice Events.
star-1
Rip off beyond all expectations
Guy_R
, Aug 2019
Full disclosure- taking a gondola ride in Venice is potentially fraught with a tourist trap flair....but in this case it was not only a rip off but a full blown con job, to the point of petty thievery. We paid for, as described, a romantic 30 minute gondola serenade accompanied with a bottle of Prosecco. What we got was a grumpy, unfriendly gondolier for 20 minutes who conversed in a congested canal with other gondoliers. When we inquired about the Prosecco, he called the tour hostess who had greeted us at the outset and asked her about it. She said the law recently changed not allowing alcohol to be consumed but the bottle would be awaiting us on our return. The only thing awaiting us was nothing....and the tour hostess had disappeared and no one there would assist us . Rip off, lousy experience, no Prosecco. I’m a frequent Viator user but we will explore other tour vendors based on this experience. WE WANT A REFUND !!!!!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Very short gondola ride!
timothyhornby
, Jul 2019
The gondola ride was very nice, but it was only very quick, and we barely on the water for 20 minutes. For the price you pay you think you’d be on there for the full 30 minutes or at least 25 minutes as was stated in the description.
star-4
Gondola Ride in Venice
Kingston D
, Apr 2019
It was good and a lot of fun but the operator shortened our ride. Was supposed to be 30 mins and was barely 20 mins but I would still recommend it.
star-5
Fabulous!
Amanda_C
, Dec 2018
Wonderful trip with my husband. Were given a bottle of Prosecco for the trip. Our gondolier was super friendly and very knowledgable. Highlight of our holiday. Thank you!
star-1
THE LEAST ROMANTIC GONDOLA RIDE FOR TWO
Dream27335127586
, Nov 2018
We had great expectations for experiencing a "romantic" gondola ride in Venice. We were celebrating a sixtieth birthday and our fortieth wedding anniversary. We realize we are one of many tourists the gondoliers have to deal with on a daily basis, however, we didn't even receive as much as a "buona sera". Our gondola ride was bumper-to-bumper with the other gondolas that had been booked at the same time. One of the gondoliers in front of us was busy on his cell phone. The ride lasted twenty minutes. The only good part of our ride was the Prosecco and plastic cups, which we received at the beginning of our ride. This was a total waste of $166.64.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice
Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice

star-367

25 to 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$150.25

star-329

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$127.71

star-4165

35 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$390.97

star-4.52

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.39

star-4119

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$402.46

star-47

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$128.79

star-489

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.94

star-545

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$429.29

star-3.585

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$77.62
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations