Recent Searches
Clear

Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day

star-4.566 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Nice, France
Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day

From $130.34

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 to 12 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Local taxes
Lunch
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Local guide
Professional guide
Fuel surcharge
Landing and facility fees
Snacks
Paul , Gare Sncf De Nice, Av. Thiers, 06000 Nice, France

Please arrive a bit before at 7.55am. The guide will be waiting in front of the main train station (boulangerie Paul, terrace) with a blue sign Nice Creative Tours and a hat.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 3 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Nice Creative Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Excellent Trip far from the crowds of the Riviera Good commentary on the train, worth the time and value for money" See review
  • "All were incredibly beautiful and the visit to Notre Dame des Fountaines is a must as well." See review
  • "It is a long day for sure but well worth it!" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
66 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews
star-5
Exquisit
SyedZahid_H
, Aug 2022
Excellent, brilliant, wonderful. Yohaan the tour guide was hekpful and very knowledgable. Was able to enjoy South of France to the ultimate. Endorse it for others hands down
star-5
Step back into Medieval times
Vio_P
, Aug 2022
Train ride to the Alps was a fantastic experience. Seeing Tende and Saorge was like stepping back in history and being in Medieval France. Our guide (Samuel) was wonderful - he was very knowledgeable, personable, thoughtful and flexible with our requests. I would most definitely recommend this tour to someone looking for a change of pace and scenery from the the typical Cote D'Azur experience.
star-5
Exciting tour experience on a train
Elizabeth_T
, Aug 2022
Samuel was a really excellent and very informative tour guide. He was very professional and made every effort to answer questions about anything you asked him about.
star-5
unique tour
TAE_H
, Jul 2022
it is unique tour. the tour make my eyes fresh. A deep thank you to both Yohann & Samuel for their enthusiasm.
star-4
Great trip amazing 🤩...
dorota_p
, Jul 2022
Great trip amazing 🤩 views. Sebastian was really nice and show us around. I would recommend great experience.
star-5
Amazing experience in the Alps
Ancherien_D
, Jul 2022
Our guide Yohann was amazing. He communicated well and adapted to the group easily. The 2 villages we visited was awesome. Great lunch in Trende
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Train Ride Through the Alps
Sherrye_D
, Jul 2022
The guides were exceptional they went above and beyond to accommodate us. There was lots of walking and some of it very difficult to navigate for anyone who is older. We saw beautiful countrysides and ancient churches. Lunch was outside on picnic tables and very good. While it was exhausting, I am so glad we took the tour.
star-5
Ewen and Sebastián were...
Beth_D
, Jul 2022
Ewen and Sebastián were absolutely amazing. Took very good care of my mom. Went above and beyond for everyone on the trip.
star-5
Very enjoyable trip
Laith_K
, Jul 2022
Saouge village was really nice, especially Monastery Gardens and nice views. Sebastian and Yohann we really nice and helpful
star-5
Very knowledgeable tour guides
Nils_A
, Jun 2022
Worth the money. Tour was well organized, including lunch on a terrace overlooking the Alps. Note, the description said we would go to Tende, but we did not.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Average
ray_s
, Jun 2022
We were disappointed The tour guide seemed all over the place as we backed tracked a lot The tour stops did not correlate to what we did, in fact we did not visit tende and the stop and lunch at la brigge was far too long and the pace was rushed due to the guide
star-5
Highly recommended
Mary_L
, Jun 2022
This is a highly recommended trip. Both guides, Sam and Marc were very knowledgeable and helpful. We met a great group of people and enjoyed lunch together in the beautiful town of Tende. Saorge was also wonderful with spectacular views from the monastery. Thank you for a memorable day.
star-5
Great train trip in Nice
steve_t
, Jun 2022
This was a fantastic tour that we took when we were in Nice. Long day but well worth it. Many things to see and do. Highly recommend. And nice small group.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
This was a very nice...
Debra_P
, Jun 2022
This was a very nice excursion. However it did involve a lot of walking and some people might not be up to it. According to my phone, that day I walked over 5 miles and climbed the equivalent of 15 floors. Although I’m over 60, I walk a lot so it wasn’t a problem for me but it could be for many people. The trip information should clearly state how much walking is involved and how much is uphill. You should be specific - how many miles/kilometers is it? What percentage is uphill ?
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great experience!
Marija_U
, May 2022
We had a very nice day outside Nice, in Alps with a beautiful view and fresh mountain air! It was interesting to visit real Medieval town and to see how was were the streets and architecture that times. We definitely recommend to visit monastery. I am not sporty person and going up to the hills was rather difficult, but it was each step worth to go to monastery. Local guide's excursion was awesome! Excellent experience! Our guide, Helena, was very nice and helpful! Thank you very much for nice time and unforgettable experience!
star-3
Not clear
Alissa_L
, May 2022
It was a beautiful trip, filled with breathtaking views throughout the day. Our tour guide was a local. However, the description is not clear. Our entire group of 8 people did not know we had to book ahead of time for the extra excursion (rafting, horseback riding, biking), therefore we all missed out on that, which we found very disappointing( the main reason I booked this for more money instead of a different tour!!) Our day was filled with many many churches, with no time for shops/ exploring the two towns independently. The lunch was included but we had to go where the tour guide choose. In addition there was extra fees for church and monetary (which I believe would make more sense to exclude in the price). The train ride is 2.5 hours one way! So be prepared for 12+ hours (not 10) of travel.
star-5
Excellent trip & guide
Richard_P
, May 2022
Everything was perfect except the late train schedule which was the fault of the train line. Beautiful views and charming villages.
star-5
Lovely day in the Alps
Jean_H
, May 2022
What a beautiful train ride up into the Alps. Our guide Samuel was so knowledgeable about the medieval cities of Tende and Sospel So enjoyed all the history of the area. Treated to a very nice lunch.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback Jean! We love this tour and our amazing countryside and we allways try to improve it! Best regards
star-5
Amazing trip!
Kathy_P
, Mar 2022
Let me preface by saying that I'm a travel agent that has been doing tours for over 30 years, and this was definitely one of the most unique tours I've ever done! I have a group of 8 and every one of us loved it! The scenery is beautiful, and the guides were so informative and helpful. We opted for the picnic lunch and it was more than we could have expected. I highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you very much Kathy for your review from our Nice Creative Tours Team and specially Marc (our guide that day) ! We are very proud of this Train Experience Through the Alps that I created 5 years ago to get immersed inside some authentic villages of our countryside and a so special and spectacular valley. We make our best to improve every year this special tour sharing our passion for History, Culture and Heritage. Cheers, and see you maybe the next time you will come to the French Riviera ! Best regards
star-1
Trip was canceled
Kathryn_K
, Feb 2022
Our trip was canceled the day before we were supposed to go. I called to verify the pick up spot and was told that it was canceled because there weren't enough people booked. I was very disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello dear Mrs. Kroll, we are so sorry you had this bad experience with us about this cancelation. Unfortunately when we have only 2 persons on the tour that is not enough for us to pay the professional guide, the train tickets, the food and the fees. Minimum number of participants is written on the general policy. I understand your disappointment but I don't understand your so severe bad review because we called you before to tell you that the minimum number was not met and we asked you if you was available to reschedule another day. We did the refund immediately. We apologies for the inconvenience and we hope we will be able to give proofs of our professionalism during your next trip on the French Riviera. Best regards

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day
Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day

star-4.560

8 to 12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$130.34

star-4.576

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.96

star-4.540

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$103.23

star-4.514

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$134.51

star-47

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.56

star-416

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.56
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations