Recent Searches
Clear

Visit the gorges du verdon.

star-3.5109 Reviews
|
Nice, France
Visit the gorges du verdon.
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Overview

Colorful Provence boasts some of France’s most beautiful countryside scenery, but organizing transportation to explore solo from the French Riviera takes time and effort. On this tour, enjoy round-trip travel from your Nice hotel and see the best of Provence in a day. With your guide at the wheel, spin to must-see sites like Moustiers-Sainte-Marie and the Verdon gorges, and enjoy uninterrupted views over the rural landscapes.
  • See the best of Provence in a day on this sightseeing tour from Nice
  • Save sightseeing time organizing transportation independently
  • Discover sites of interest such as Moustiers-Sainte-Marie and the Verdon gorges
  • Hassle-free round-trip transport from your Nice hotel
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Bottled water
Air-conditioned vehicle
Pick up and drop-off at your accommodation
WiFi on board

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

We pick up in any point of Nice
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Each traveler is allowed a maximum of 1 suitcase and 1 carry-on bag. Oversized or excessive luggage (e.g. surfboards, golf clubs or bikes) may have certain restrictions, please inquire with the operator prior to travel to confirm if your excess luggage is acceptable
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY French Riviera Sightseeing
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Visit the gorges du verdon.?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Visit the gorges du verdon..
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Visit the gorges du verdon.?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Visit the gorges du verdon..
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Visit the gorges du verdon.?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Visit the gorges du verdon..
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Visit the gorges du verdon.?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Visit the gorges du verdon..

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
109 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews
star-5
Awesome
Lulu_s
, Aug 2022
Our tour guide was awesome.. his name is nicolai.. not sure how to spell it.. we feel so good to see the places.. but for July, no lavender as it is not in the season..
star-3
Speed limits are there for a reason.
Leena_M
, Aug 2022
The experience included several good things - the waterfall, the gorge and the two villages which were wonderful. However, the lavender had been harvested the day before and the alternative was to collect scraps of lavender plants from a field next to a main road. This we thought was a sub-par experience and time would have been better spent at a local lavender store, or having a longer time at the villages. Jokes of photoshop aside, it was a shame there was no lavender which was a main selling point. In addition, while our driver was entertaining and talkative during the trip, the driving was unnecessarily dangerous, with high speeds on narrow roads and laughing at near-misses with other vehicles. A few in our group were visibly nervous and yes, you have to travel on mountains and windy roads, but it could be driven with more care. We had to make a separate stop for water as unfortunately there was none in the van. The wifi didn’t work either which was a shame. Some of the other staff with us were great and kept the group together, but the wild driving and lack of lavender would put us off doing this again.
star-2
Great Scenery but not great service
Geoff_P
, Jul 2022
The scenery and the villages were superb. But the trip was not...driven without an English guide and having Rap music on with the F Word been repeated over and over not to mention lyrics about Rape etc...not very pleasant....one positive we got free water which was nice.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Horrible tour
rawlinskaren
, Jul 2022
The lavender fields were dry and depressing. I understand the weather is out of the tour company”s control but I believe we should’ve been offered an option as to whether or not we wanted to still go on this excursion. We also did more stopping to take pictures of random scenery than we did at the gorges du verdon. All in all the tour was horrible and I would definitely suggest that you do not go on this tour.
star-1
Absolute waste of your money, just rent a car and do it on your own
Malvika_B
, Jul 2022
I don’t understand how viator as a trusted brand could ever work with a company as incompetent as the one that managed this tour - the tour time was given as 9AM-6PM but it actually started at 8 (mainly pick ups) and we left for the destination around 9 and we left from there at 5 instead of 6PM which in turn led to a very rushed trip - the lavenders were cut off and they informed us about it at the beginning of the tour instead of sharing this information with us atleast a day prior, to make matter worse we had called the company 2 weeks back to confirm if the lavenders will be cut and they said no the season will go on till august (so they essentially lied just to scam us) - it said there would be wifi on board, there was none - it said admission to the lavender field + lac saint croix will be included (this literally is free for anyone who wants to visit, there is no entrance fee and besides there were no lavenders) so I don’t understand what besides the car and driver was really included in this experience - the tour guide was in another car and barely every spoke to us or gave us any infomation about any of the places we visited All in all, this trip was an absolute scam and the only good thing to note about it was the fact that the driver we had was very nice. And if you see from other reviews which call out the company they scold the customer instead of taking the feedback and actually improving this absolute scam experience
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hello Thank you for any comments can improve. in your case it is not true. you have been picked up at your address even if you have dragged the driver for 45mins because you are not ready. in addition we have provided you with the wifi code but unfortunately it does not work with you we do not know the reasons knowing that the other customers it works. we take you to the last field where there are still a few flowers knowing that it is well indicated that it depends on the seasons. we have all the photos taken by our guides which show your disrespectful behavior towards them and also all the photos which show that you took advantage of all the stops and also in the middle of the field. madam you have to be honest and we will publish the photos to show the truth. thank you
star-5
The guide nikola is very...
Yufan_R
, Jul 2022
The guide nikola is very friendly. Although the lavender season has finished. The other views are beautiful.
star-5
The best time!
Ashley_B
, Jul 2022
Our guide, Ondrej, was amazing! He was so knowledgeable, patient, and accommodating. If we wanted to spend a little more time in one location, he had no issue. All of the places we saw were absolutely spectacular. I would recommend this tour to anyone.
star-2
No lavender after mid July
Rebecca_S
, Jul 2022
What this tour company doesn’t tell you is that the lavender has all been harvested by mid July. We went on July 20 and saw the very last few rows being cut. It was a nice drive thru the Maritime Alps BUT: we drove at breakneck speed like we were racing in the Le Mans; the English speaking driver was in the other vehicle and our driver had never done the tour, so we learned absolutely nothing about the region. The trip through the gorge was beautiful.
star-1
A recklessly dangerous experience
Siena_C
, Jul 2022
This was an incredibly disappointing experience. To squeeze in all of the sites, the driver drives at reckless speeds around the sharp mountain turns. Not only is the driving terrifying, it results in car sickness that makes the trip a horrible experience. On top of that, our driver had never done the trip before and did not speak English, so we learned virtually nothing about the places we saw (when we didn’t have our eyes close hoping not to be sick in the vehicle). If we had known what a horribly unejoyable trip this was going to be, we would have simply rented a car ourselves. Bottom line: not worth it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Scam scam scam no sense of time
subhradeep_b
, Jul 2022
I booked a tour which was supposed to end at 6pm maximum but the driver said that it will end at 9pm minimum, we said that only we will visit the lavender and come back, and then he said that it was only possible if we take a helicopter! A total scam company "the french Rivera sightseeing" , i lost 30thousand inr or around 450euro ! Please be aware
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
HELLO, THANK YOU FOR ANY COMMENTS THAT CAN BRING IMPROVEMENTS FOR OUR CUSTOMERS! but in your case these are only lies to justify your superior behavior vis-à-vis the opinions of other customers, with whom you have been very incorect and impolite!! indeed your tour could in no case end at 6 p.m. (maximum as you like to say) but between 6:30 p.m. or 7 p.m. depending on the traffic!! and not 9 p.m. as you also like to believe!! and of course let you know once the tour begins with the other customers in the van! and you forced us to turn around when you finally understood that the turn was to be shared and that the other customers wanted their full turn and not to go back directly to the lavender and come back as you wanted to impose! this being so, you had therefore asked to return to the hotel so we turned around, which of course and normally was disturbing for our other customers!! and made everyone late because apart from you and your train!! know that the other customers also have compromises on the return and do not want to come back too late either! Why did you not warn of all this before the day of departure?? Mr. be honest and learn to count 4 times 90 e no never make 450 e more know that you are not superior to other customers who deserve at least the respect as much as you !! Mr. if you have this atitude know that in France all citizens have the same rights! Our customers and Internet users will appreciate your honesty!
star-1
Wld not recommend
Amy_M
, Jul 2022
Probably one of the worst experiences I’ve had while traveling abroad. The tour guide was reckless with driving. Swerving back and forth across multiple lanes, hit another cars trailer, mixed with other very concerning scenarios during the trip. I wld not recommend. Going forward, I will only be attending tours with large motor coaches. Did not feel safe. Additionally this was mostly spent riding for 10 hrs.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
HELLO thank you for any comments that can improve the service to our customers! and your comment deserves a clearer explanation so that our customers and the Internet user understand the real situation! to resume driving on several lanes, know that indeed driving in the mountains is very special! and of course encroaches on the other lane but precisely this driving is done to prevent customers from swinging from right to left in order to avoid road sickness as much as possible, which is very common among our customers who are not used to these mountain roads! as for the worrying scenario!! from your point of view!! indeed when we have several vans in the tour we ask a driver to stay together for the sake of additional safety for our customers because they are always on a mountain road! if a vehicle has come to have 1 concern caused by the stone road or other there will be more serenity for our customers if there are 2 or 3 guides! as for the 10 hour tour by van or bus, it will always be 10 hours with a big difference in mobility because in a large bus, madam, you have to move more on foot and you will never be able to visit the same places as with a smaller van! with which you omitted to report all the beautiful place you visited and take pretty pictures !! such as the waterfalls, Castellane, the stops along the Verdon (largest canyon in Europe) your stop in the middle of the lavender fields, the pottery and the superb village of moustier where you have lunch! and the stop also at the lake of Sainte Coix where some customers donut or pedalo! here is madam now our customers and Internet users will be able to appreciate your sincere comments!!!
star-3
Better than average!
Fadhlullah_O
, Jul 2022
The trip was good but could have been better if we went to Plateau Valensole (informed late that Lavender would have been harvested by the time we are doing the tour). The lake part in the end could be a miss. However, our tour guide was so energetic that the tour was fun!
star-4
American in Provence. Great tour
Tim_R
, Jul 2022
Overall, it was great. This was a full 10 hour trip in groups of 3 vans with one van having the main guide. Our driver, Ali was very nice and kind (also a great driver) but didn’t speak much English. Pick up from our hotel was easy in that our driver met us in our lobby in Nice. He had many waters for us during the trip but I suggest bringing snacks. I suggest sitting in the front of the van because this tour has some windy roads so if you get motion sickness, take some precaution. An added benefit that wasn’t advertised is that the tour almost entirely drives through a National Park- the views the whole drive are amazing. We stopped 5-6 times in total including some small alpine villages that we could grab a quick coffee and walk around. We stopped and took photos with some ancient ruins, waterfalls, and scenic overlooks- truly gorgeous. The highlight was the lavender fields which we had entirely to ourselves in the high mountains although I understand they will be harvesting mid July so double check that you will actually see fields before you book. We finished up with a close look of the Lake of St Croix which was a lovely blue but we didn’t go near it. I would suggest (for the tour company) an optional swim package for guests that wanted to spend a few hours there. Overall, I’m glad we did it and it was a good value. Again, Ali our driver was wonderful and caring. I can tell he enjoys what he does. I would do this again. And yes, you will get all of your Instagram photos.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-3
Too rushed. Try to find a tour that offers one or the other, but not both.
Celia_D
, Jul 2022
This could have been a nice trip, but our guide/driver was late, and made up the time by trimming our stops. It wasn’t clear from sign ups whether or not there was swimming allowed, some guests brought suits, others didn’t. I booked through Viator who said I had to pick a hotel or the airport for pick up. But then when I messaged about this, asking where at the airport? I was told I had to go to the tourism center, only. Ok, that’s fine, but I wouldn’t have known that had I not been constantly emailing for a confirmation. I was told to be there at 8am. Driver arrived at 8:40. Driver was well intentioned guy, but he kept turning to look at passengers instead of at the road in front of him. At different points he texted or looked at manuals while driving. Later, he kept pushing with personal questions and told me I needed to find 15 mins a day to learn an additional language. A nice idea, but unsolicited and hardly any of his business? Also was grilling me (and then another woman) about what we were doing that night, and who we were traveling with. Just, no dude. Read the room. “Do you need any recommendations?” Is appropriate. “Are you by yourself? Where are you staying?” Is annoying. Advertised as having Wi-Fi on board but this was never mentioned or offered.
star-5
Excellent tour with a mix of natural beauty and villages nestled in mountains
Govind_B
, Jul 2022
My family and I had an excellent experience with our guide Andrew. The tour itself is conducted in small groups of 8 people and is well structured with stops every hour or so. There is a good mix of natural beauty at the Gorges du Verdon, the Lake of St. Croix and the Lavender fields but the couple of old French villages that we stopped at along the way make the trip even more memorable. Our guide (Andrew) took very good care of us and made sure that all of us had a comfortable experience. All in all, highly recommended!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
The perfect tour to see the country side of The S of France
Sabrina_B
, Jul 2022
This was one of the best tours I have been on! Highly recommend French Rivera tours and particularly this one. Abdul, our driver, was phenomenal and made me safe on the winding Provence roads. Amazing views! The itinerary was perfect.
star-4
Worth it.
Alyssa_S
, Jul 2022
I am glad I read reviews of this tour beforehand. This tour is great, but not for people who are prone to motion sickness. Our tour guide was very nice and accommodating. He said in the beginning of the tour that the ride through the mountains is long and windy. If someone is about to be sick, he will pull over. Sure enough, someone from our group had to throw up. Our guide said this happens to at least one person every time. I think if he knows this, he should have some bags available because there’s not always a place to pull over. Also, this isn’t the guides fault, but the van had poor air ventilation in the back. At the end of the tour, we switched rows with the sick people in the back, and I understood why they had a bad time. I am glad I took motion sickness medication beforehand. Other than this, the tour is worth it. It was a long day of beautiful views and our tour guide was a lot of fun.
star-5
Awesome day trip from Nice!
Jason_M
, Jul 2022
What an incredible day! We saw so many beautiful places and of course…the lavender fields! There’s just enough time at each stop to take it all in and then move on to the next. The change in terrain and landscape was breathtaking. I felt like we saw 2 days worth of sites in about 8 hours! Our guide Andrei was terrific. He was on time, friendly, helpful and provided some interesting history along the way. Awesome day trip from Nice. Don’t miss it!
star-5
Great, long day
Tracey_C
, Jul 2022
Ondrej was an wonderful guide and excellent driver. We all had a good day. The tour is a very busy day, and it was really hot. But we had fun. There will be a lot of getting in and out, and lots of winding roads. But so worth the journey. I'm not sure this is a good tour for kids. If they don't sit well in van for long periods...
star-1
Too long
Christina_H
, Jul 2022
Tour guide stopped at w wry outlook, didn’t stay on schedule didn’t listen to the clients . Arrived back at hotel over an hour and a half late

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Visit the gorges du verdon.
Likely to Sell Out
Visit the gorges du verdon.

star-3.5109

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.12

star-4.511

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$130.72

star-427

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$83.66

star-47

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.74

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.49
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations