Recent Searches
Clear

Nassau Food and History Bus Tour

star-4.564 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
New Providence Island, Caribbean
Nassau Food and History Bus Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Experience the history and food of the island of Nassau on this half-day bus tour. Learn about the traditional food and drink of the Bahamas while tasting samples of authentic dishes. Sip on local beers and bush teas, visit a cake factory, a historical museum, and ancient battle forts. End your day with a Bahamian-style lunch at a local restaurant. Hotel or port pickup and drop-off is included.
  • Delve into Nassau's history and culinary traditions
  • Stop for food and drink tastings between history tours
  • Perfect introduction for first-time visitors
  • Authentic Bahamian-style lunch included
Saved to wishlist!
Pickup and drop-off from cruise ship, hotel, or vacation rental
Transport by air-conditioned minibus
Local guide
Food and drink tasting
Bottled water
Lunch
Food or drinks not on specified tour menu
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

10:00 AM

Hotel pickups commence prior to this time, you must contact the local service provider to verify your exact pickup time.

Vacation Rental Nassau Hotels
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by paying adult
  • Infant meals not included
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • At time of booking, cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time.
  • Dress code - comfortable light clothing in summer. Light jacket in winter or rainy weather.
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Waiver required to be signed
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Bahamas Tours and Travel
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Nassau Food and History Bus Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Nassau Food and History Bus Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Nassau Food and History Bus Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Nassau Food and History Bus Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Nassau Food and History Bus Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Nassau Food and History Bus Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Nassau Food and History Bus Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Nassau Food and History Bus Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "We were staying at a VRBO for a week and this gave us a great overview and helped us plan our stay so I would recommend taking this tour early in your visit!" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
64 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews
star-5
Awesome Historical and Culinary Tour
Daniel_S
, Aug 2022
Dwight and Sandy had all the information and made the tour absolutely enjoyable. Jermaine made sure we got where we needed to be and Keith was there making sure everyone had everything they needed. Hands down one of the best and most entertaining tours of anywhere I've ever been on.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing Comprehensive Tour
Jeanae_K
, Jul 2022
All-around great tour! I highly recommend this tour for any and everyone. You hit all the must-see sights, learn about the rich history of the island and taste some amazing dishes. My family and I took a cruise to Nassau and was looking for a comprehensive tour for the day. This was perfect. A Plus…we rode around in AC and nice van…it was hot out. The staff: knowledgeable and friendly. Don’t even second guess…this is the tour you want to experience.
star-5
Take this tour!!!! Be sure to tip!
Jillinn_W
, Jul 2022
I enjoyed so many parts of this trip. We got to see things that we wouldn't see if we had just stayed at Atlantis. I so enjoyed the tour guides and hope I tipped enough. At the end of the tour I felt like I knew our group so well and appreciated the personal experience.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hello Jillinn We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed the tour. Your tip was enough and was greatly appreciated. That's the magic of a small bus tour, you get to be a part of everything, and no one feels left out. We love it when guest leave feeling like family! Hope to see you again! Regards, A. Roberts Manager
star-2
A waste of time.
Armel_O
, Jul 2022
There was no wow moment in this tour. The tour guide crew is very nice but I was paying for a fabulous experience not nice people. A Day in Paradise Island is a piece of Gold and I lost that. It was a waste of time. We spent too much time by the sea where they fish Conch. The food was excellent that is why I am giving 02 stars otherwise it should be one. The dining place has no air conditioner.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hello Guest. Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re very sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. We do try our very best to educate and entertain our guests and customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. We apologize for the extended time at our conch salad vendor. As we are a unique small bus tour tailored to small groups (so you won’t feel like you’re on a tourist trap tour) we visit our local vendors who are also small business owners. That ensures that your food is fresh and made on the spot and sometimes this can take a few minutes longer. We also use the same lunch vendor every day and have never had a problem with the air-conditioning. I can assure you the air was indeed on, just not at full blast. Unfortunately, it being a Sunday and a Holiday at the same time; finding a technician might have been a bit challenging for them. Excuses aside, we are Happy at least; to know that you enjoyed the food. “A waste of your time" is a deeply disappointing term for our tour description, as our guides and host try their best to achieve customer satisfaction and we usually receive rave reviews. However, we will graciously take your comments into account, and review our time management and the quality of each stop going forward. Regards A. Roberts Manager.
star-5
Must-Do Tour in Nassau
Charlene_G
, Mar 2020
This is a must do tour when you visit Nassau. From the moment we began our tour from our hotel Sandi and Keith shared interesting information that we were unaware even though many in my family had visited multiple times. The Fort, Queen’s Staircase, and the Rum Cake Factory were great but the most memorable highlights of the tour were our stops at the site where we were treated to fresh conch salad made on site and the Fish Fry area for our wonderful Bahamian lunch. Try it and we know you will love the experience.
star-5
Great tour with amazing tour guides
Shelby_M
, Feb 2020
Amazing experience if you want to see what Nassau has to offer. The 2 tour guides were very nice and explain everything very well. The food is very good also. I have nothing to complain about its a must do!!!
star-5
Nassau Experience
Carol_S
, Feb 2020
This was one of the highlights of our trip to Nassau. Sandi and Keith were informative and fun! We were staying at a VRBO for a week and this gave us a great overview and helped us plan our stay so I would recommend taking this tour early in your visit! Sandi and Keith didn’t just pick “touristy” spots - Montagu Fish Market and conch salad was amazing. The conch salad was the best we had during our stay. They can tailor the tour to the participants interests. They added a stop at John Watkins Distillery when several of us asked about it! Definitely a winner.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excursion in Nassau
joyce_m
, Aug 2019
I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get some history about the Bahamas and be able to stop and taste some of the local edibles. Keith and Sandy did a fantastic job and they were very personable.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great Tour and Food
William_A
, Jun 2019
Our tour guide was very informative and entertaining. We had a wonderful time visiting local places and the food was wonderful at Drifters. Sandra did an excellent job.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing
Heath_P
, May 2019
This tour was so much fun. My group had a blast with the tour guides Keith and Sandy. You get great local food, history and current information. I would recommend this tour to anyone who visits the island. My favorite stop was the first one because of the interaction you get to have with the process of cooking the food. Thank you Keith and Sandy keep up the great tours.
star-5
This tour was awesome. I can't...
Bill D
, Jul 2018
This tour was awesome. I can't understand the expectations of anyone who rates this tour anything other than 5 star. Dwight was our guide and he was great! From the moment they picked us up in their new clean air conditioned van we had a blast. For some good food, culture and history I would highly recommend this tour and this group led by Dwight.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Our tour guide was 45 minutes late...
Janet S
, Apr 2018
Our tour guide was 45 minutes late but she kept in contact with us so I do not feel this effected our experience. The stop at the fish market where Daniel made conch salad was very entertaining and fun. Four in the group have a shell fish allergy and they were very careful not to cross contaminate. When we went to the tea place she was very knowledgeable about what each tea was good for health issues but we felt like making sales were their main mission. The samples were very small and we were crowded in a room. Would have been nice to have bigger samples while she explains the teas and then made the offer if we wanted to purchase. The rum cake place was also small and crowded and the samples were very small. No explanation of how they are made or any history of the cakes. We were back to the fish market for lunch which was delicious but the dessert was conch fritters and there was no substitute for our shell fish allergy. We asked if we could get an extra piece of fish and he looked at us like we were crazy. We loved the fort and our guide there was very knowledgeable. Our tour guide for the food and history was great at giving us lots of history. We all felt there could have been more food on the tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
I can't say enough about the great...
Paul S
, Apr 2018
I can't say enough about the great service from Antonia and the staff on the tour. We had a small van driven by Antonia for my family of four. They communicated well before the tour and regarding pick up times. During the tour, with one other van, we stopped for Conch Salad, local natural medicines, rum cakes, a fort and a beachside lunch. What made the tour really exceptional was Antonia sharing the history, culture and daily life of the island as we toured between stops. She was really knowledgeable and provided outstanding customer service. I would recommend this tour for any first time visitor to the island it is a great way to get your bearings both geographically and culturally. It is also a great tour for those who visit often and want to have a relaxed day with deep local connections.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
the tour was actually a...
Mel_L
, Apr 2018
the tour was actually a disappointment for 400 bucks 3 adults 2 children we got the same information from our bus driver, cost of which were included in vacation package transfers. With that said, this tour was for the most part an exercise in taking you to small businesses that would use the stop to sell you there products, so in all likely hood the tour driver and the merchants she drove us to have some sort of relationship. The food on the trip was less than extraordinary, half cup of a 5 oz cup of beer, about 1/4 oz in 3 cups of bush tea, a 5 oz of conch salad, 3 thin slices of rum cake about 2 x 2 and chicken wings and rice we drove by 2 forts that would have been more interesting to see and hear about. I think more stops related to the island culture and it's peoples, would have been better than the very obvious taking tourist to merchants who were selling their products. Just my point of view
icon Response from Host , Apr 2018
TOUR OPERATOR COMMENT: Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on delivering the best experience and are deeply sorry that you felt as though you did not get value for your money. Please be aware, we are a small business supporter and we include two authentic stops that make bohemian products. We tell each guest that the samples are included and they are in no way obligated to purchase. Also, we see you mentioned a drive-by of two forts. However, our tour also includes a guided tour of Fort Montaqu. Also included is an interactive conch salad making class "from shell to salad," a 7 oz cup of salad, a 7 oz cup of beer, conch fritters, 7 oz of Sky Juice (coconut rum drink), samples of rum cake and bush tea, and a meal that includs tamarind glazed wings, fish strips, peas and rice, coleslaw, and lemonade. Although we do not provide a full meal at each stop, the included items are meant to provide our guests with samples the unique flavors of the region. Once again, we are sorry to hear this affected your overall enjoyment of the tour but hope you enjoyed your time in Nassau.
star-5
This was the best tour -- from...
Linda S
, Feb 2018
This was the best tour -- from beginning to end. My family of four adults had our own mini van and tour guide, the owner Antonia. She made sure we knew all about the island and took us to make conch salad with a real pro. The local beer was wonderful too!. With Antonia and Dwight we visited Fort Charlotte, had the coconut drink, went to the rum cake factory, and the tea company. Here we learned all about the best teas and cures for our health issues!! Sandy knew all about the native plants and their purposes. Our tour ended with a sit down dinner where we sampled all kinds of native dishes. No one was hungry after this tour!!! Oh -- they picked us up on the dock where our ship docked and took us back -- door to door service on the entire trip!!! This tour is a MUST DO!!!
star-5
EVERYONE should do this tour! We...
Carole_K
, Feb 2018
EVERYONE should do this tour! We had been to Nassau before and walked around a lot on our own. The reviews for this were compelling, so we signed up - and glad we did. Dwight and Sandi navigated us to interesting places and amazing tastey treats, with a lot of interaction and Bahamian history and cultural sprinkles thrown in. We had conch when we were here last time and hated it rubber and yucky. They took us to a conch salad award winner, extolled the benefits of FRESH and proved that conch not only should be tender, but also delicious. We went to the rum cake factory, where we had been before, but under their guidance tasted better and worth purchasing. We went to a 'bush medicine' tea shop and have a lot of expectations from our purchases there! A tour of a fort and its history, a yummy - yet culturally inspired - lunch....there's more to share, but you gotta go on this trip to find out. Enveloping a fine experience is the back and forth of Dwight and Sandi who are welcoming, sharing of the Bahamian way and making sure you go away as proud to be in the Bahamas with them as they are to be citizens. I now look at the Bahamian flag, seen from my hotel window, and appreciate what it means. A really awesome tour, even if you've done Nassau on your own. Nassau is better through Sandi's and Dwight's knowledgeable eyes.
star-4
This was our most enjoyable trip...
Loretta_W
, Feb 2018
This was our most enjoyable trip. Places visited and food sampled were great.
star-5
Dwight and Sandi were excellent! We...
Kelly P
, Dec 2017
Dwight and Sandi were excellent! We not only got to try a lot of delicious food, conch salad, sky juice, kalik beer, rum cake, island teas and rice and peas. We learned a lot about Nassau and over the hill. This is an extremely intimate experience and is always a small tour but I had a wonderful time and would do it again!
star-5
I have taken 7 cruises, and thus...
Paul R
, Dec 2017
I have taken 7 cruises, and thus many, many excursions, and this tour ranks right up there in the top 3 of all time. Dwight and two very nice ladies took wonderful care of us, as we were able to not only hear a bit of Nassau history from locals, but also sample food and drink from off-the-wall spots that most visitors would never find. The highlight spot of our entire cruise was a little shack under the bridge where a very talented native prepared an extremely fresh conch salad right in front of our eyes, with conch that we personally pulled from the shells. Not only entertaining, but quite delicious, and I never dreamed I would enjoy the taste of conch........fresh is everything, according to Dwight. I could say much more, but just let me summarize by saying this was the best value for the money of any excursion I have ever taken, and I could not have been more pleased with our guides. Thanks again, Paul and Lisa Riggs
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Highly recommend this tour! Enjoyed...
Travel2
, Dec 2017
Highly recommend this tour! Enjoyed spending the day with guides Sandy and Dwight - very charming, and personable! My husband and I took this tour while visiting Nassau during Thanksgiving holidays. We enjoyed getting off the resort and out in to the community - learning just the right amount of history and culture, as well as sampling excellent local cuisine on and off the beaten paths.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations