Recent Searches
Clear

Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

|
Badge of Excellence
|
München, Germany
Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon9 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Travel from Munich to Bavaria’s Neuschwanstein Castle on this day trip that includes round-trip transportation by train. Often known as Germany’s "Cinderella castle," Neuschwanstein was actually the inspiration for a different Disney story, the ‘Sleeping Beauty’ castle at Disneyland. Take a guided tour of the castle, and hear stories about the "Mad" King Ludwig II, who commissioned it. The entrance fee is not included, but skip-the-line access is, so you won’t wait in the main admission queue.
  • Neuschwanstein Castle day tour from Munich
  • Take a guided tour of Neuschwanstein Castle, the model for Disneyland's Sleeping Beauty Castle
  • Enjoy skip-the-line access to the castle
  • Admire views of the lake, waterfall gorge, and Hohenschwangau Castle
  • Round-trip train ride to Fussen from Munich included
  • Small-group tour with max 15 people

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Skip-the-line Neuschwanstein Castle entry is prebooked on this day trip, so you have more time to explore.
Saved to wishlist!
All transportation costs
Professional guide
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
Entrance fees -EUR 17 per adult, children under 18 years free
Entrance Fee is paid at check in on tour day, guaranteed per attendee.
Dachauer Str. 4 , Dachauer Str. 4, 80335 München, Germany

You find our office and meeting spot at Dachauer Straße 4, a shop with large glass windows and a small parking space infront. We are facing north side. Please come and meet us inside this location 20 min prior to departure time.

9:15 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Your day trip to Neuschwanstein Castle starts with the train or bus journey from Munich through the German countryside. The entrance fee to the castle is not included (you can pay on the day), but by booking this tour in advance, you receive skip-the-line access to Neuschwanstein so you won’t waste time standing in the ticket queue.

Once inside the enchanting structure, take a tour with a guide, who shares fascinating stories about the reclusive Bavarian king who commissioned a new residence in the 19th century. Thought to be mad, King Ludwig II desired a fantasy castle built in the mountains, an obsessive feat that was still incomplete when he died. Visit the best vantage points for views and photo ops of the castle’s towers, interiors and surrounding scenery such as the lake, gorge and equally beautiful Hohenschwangau Castle.

Your tour ends with the ride back to Munich. Offering great views, the trains are clean, comfortable, and equipped with washrooms. You may walk around to talk with your fellow travelers and your guide, who can answer any questions you may have about Munich and Bavaria.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Radius Tours
This where the tour starts and you meet your guide. After that, it will be a 2 hour journey to Neuschwanstein.
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Schloss Neuschwanstein
Schloss Neuschwanstein, often known as Germany’s "Cinderella castle," was actually the inspiration for a different Disney story, the ‘Sleeping Beauty’ castle at Disneyland. The entrance fee to the castle is not included (you can pay on the day), but by booking this tour in advance, you’ll receive skip-the-line access to Neuschwanstein so you won’t waste time standing in the ticket queue. The entrance fee to the castle is not included (you can pay on the day), but by booking this tour in advance, you’ll receive skip-the-line access to Neuschwanstein so you won’t waste time standing in the ticket queue. Once inside the enchanting structure, take a tour with a guide, who shares fascinating stories about the reclusive Bavarian king who commissioned a new residence in the 19th century. Thought to be mad, King Ludwig II desired a fantasy castle built in the mountains, an obsessive feat that was still incomplete when he died. Visit the best vantage points for views and photo ops of the castle’s towers, interiors and surrounding scenery such as the lake, gorge and equally beautiful Hohenschwangau Castle.
Duration: 5 hours 
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Radius Tours
We will return to the train station to conclude the tour.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour involves an approx. 30-minute uphill walk. If you prefer not to walk uphill, an optional horse-drawn carriage will take you most (but not all) of the way to the top; please note that the optional horse-drawn carriage is weather dependent and also depends on the day.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Radius Tours GmbH
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The tour itself was a 40 minute uphill walk on black top, so wear your sneakers." See review
  • "You need to be physically fit if you want to climb the hill towards the castle in any weather conditions." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
2,639 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 2,639 reviews
star-5
Wonderful day trip to Neuschwanstein castle
Cristina_S
, Aug 2022
Charlie - the tour guide - is an excellent storyteller, great entertainer and a really nice person to talk to. Also Neuschwanstein castle is a must if you are in Munich.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the nice review of our Neuschwanstein Castle Day Tour with our guide Charlie.
star-5
Professional guide Steve - will definitely recommend this tour to my friends!
Kenny_L
, Aug 2022
Steve was a real professional - he was knowledgeable, passionate about his job, very capable, energetic, obviously cares about people, and fun! He was truly professional - a vast contrast to the tour guide we had the day before during a different trip with the same company. Kudos to Steve and his partner!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the great review of our Neuschwantein Day Trip and our guide Stevo.
star-5
We recommend this tour!
Sheila_S
, Aug 2022
This tour took us in an air conditioned bus to and from Neuschwanstein Castle. We had time to eat lunch in the nearby town and time to do some souvenir shopping there, as well as some time to sit by the nearby lake. Stevo is an experienced guide who is easy-going and personable, and Franjo is new and training. They both did a great job. The guides accompanied us up the strenuous walk to the castle. It is a paved path, and busses and carriages are also available. The castle does require visitors to climb stairs. We bought our tickets to Neuschwanstein through the tour company and this allowed us to not wait in line once we got to the castle. The views in and from the castle are amazing. My husband and I would both recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the further recommendation from you and your husband Sheila. We are glad to read you had an enjoyable experience down at the castle with our guides Stevo and Franjo.
star-3
Great tour guide, dishonest advertising
BruceBehrouz_H
, Aug 2022
The tour is advertised as small-group and in the details it specifically says 15 people max. That is simply not true as pointed out by many other reviewers. It is a lie. We had 22 people in our group. I asked the office why that is, and the lady at the tour desk blamed the mis-advertising on Viator. I said it is your verbiage. She then danced around it by saying that “small-group” is not defined. I told her the site specifically says 15 people max. Then she came up with several other non-sense excuses, never owning the mid-advertising. The tour guide Charlie was great. He was knowledgeable and cared.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
I will sign up for more tours from your company.
Sandra_Y
, Aug 2022
Charlie was the best tour guide. He told the history in chapters. He took good care of our group. He laughed and talked to each of us, making us feel like a special guest
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the nice review Sandra. We are glad to read our guide Charlie looked after you all.
star-4
Nice change from the large city atmosphere surrounded by natural beauty!
Nitza_C
, Jul 2022
Enjoyed the beautiful town, a little busy but understandable with it being a large tourist attraction.
star-5
Neuschwanstein
Gerald_L
, Jul 2022
Walking up to the castle and viewing the castle from the bridge were the most memorable parts of a really enjoyable day.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for posting up a review Gerald. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours.
star-5
Stevo made the castle tour a FUN day.
DARLENE_S
, Jul 2022
Guide STEVO was awesome & fun, & provided excellent information & details. 👍. However the guide in the castle was terrible, & the castle tour was too short.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the review of our Day Tour To Neuschwanstein castle. We are glad to read that Stevo made the experience for you worthwhile.
star-4
Guide was great , experience was not
David_B
, Jul 2022
First off , the best thing about this experience was the guide Stephanie - she made the whole experience worthwhile and I want to give HER five stars. She was an absolute superstar and I would go another tour by her. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ HOWEVER, the trip itself was overbooked (23 people booked for a tour which says maximum 15) and for a 9 hour trip you get 20 minutes inside the castle and it takes 2 minutes at one nearby vantage point with a poor view. No pictures are allowed inside the castle, nor is your guide. You are rushed by the castle staff from room to room. None of this is the fault of your guide at all. Needless to say, if you REALLY want to visit the castle take a 9 euro trip on the train , and pay the 15euro it costs to go inside the castle…. Then spend more time exploring the town or hiking to a better vantage point.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Castle is as beautiful as expected.
Kent_H
, Jul 2022
The castle is wonderful and breathtaking. It is a beautiful place and everything around it is so beautiful. The steep climb is difficult for people who aren’t used to that type of walking, but there are very good alternatives. Our guide, Stephanie was fantastic! I was very disappointed that I paid extra money for a small group (10-15 people per Viator) tour. In reality there were 25 people on our tour and our reserved bus picked up 30+ kids on the way back to the train station. Wanted a smaller group to avoid the potential of contracting COVID, but was continually bombarded with additional people.
star-4
Need better time management
Thomas_J
, Jul 2022
Our guides time management skills were terrible. Why she decided to take us via the harder walking trail was beyond my understanding. She did not inform us of the mask mandate in the castle or the fact the you had to check a large backpack in with information before entering.
star-2
Not worth the tour
Joycelyn_A
, Jul 2022
1) The guide was nice and knowledgeable. We really liked her. 2) The description of the tour is unclear on two areas, whether the client rides by bus or train. 3) Also, the tour doesn’t include the other castle, which is JUST as beautiful and rich in history. When we found this out, we scrambled to get tickets on-line, while riding on the train. Our guide was phenomenal in helping us get tickets; however, we felt we could have gone by train ourselves and gotten our own tickets and didn’t need to pay for this tour. The problem was not our guide—she was great—but rather, the tour set-up. It is important to note, the guides are not allowed to go into the castle(s). The castle(s) is/are guided by the staff via a time cue, small group and audio guide.
star-5
Wear non-slip boots during winter!
Marsyita_M
, Jul 2022
Paul was my guide during my trip to Neuschwanstein Castle. He was very informative, clear with his instructions and entertaining. I visited Neuschwanstein Castle in December. Up in the snowy Schwangau, the castle, the village and the surroundings were beautiful. The tickets are timed and we were able to tour the place with a guide from the castle. I appreciated the history shared by both the castle guide and Paul.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the review of our Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich. Thanks for putting your trust in Radius Tours.
star-5
Nice experience.
Paul_S
, Jul 2022
Hein did an excellent job preparing us for the castle tour. He kept us on time, made sure we were aware of the food options, and provided a valuable historical background.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the five star review Paul. We are glad you had a nice time down at the castle on our Neuschwanstein Day Tour.
star-5
Stress free and fun!
Tiffany_K
, Jul 2022
It was a great experience. Steve O and Paula were very well informed. Our guides knew what they were doing every step of the way. They even took some pictures for us. I would recommend this tour to anyone; we just had to sit back and relax while tickets and transportation were provided.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the nice review of our Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip with our guides Steveo and Paula, it sounds like they looked after you guys down there.
star-5
Lovely castle
Michele_T
, Jul 2022
The beautiful mountains around the castle and the castle itself. The tour guide was knowledgeable. Lunch at the town was good. It was a long day but well worth the trip.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the review of our Neuschwanstein day trip. We are glad to read you felt it was worth it.
star-5
Wonderful day
Withaya_B
, Jul 2022
The two guides Stevo and Paul were great - they brought the story of Ludwig to life. We thoroughly enjoyed our day.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review :)
star-5
Great tour
Denisse_L
, Jul 2022
Great tour, we had plenty time to walk around and enjoy the day, so we did not feel in a rush. Out guides Paul and Stevo were fantastic.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the great review. Nice to read you had an enjoyable time woth our guides Stevo and Paul.
star-5
Great tour, would recommend
Shannon_L
, Jul 2022
Great day tour. We travelled via bus to the castle. We broke for lunch then started the tour. Great story telling from our guide Paul about king lugwig II. The castle and surroundings were beautiful. Easy and stress free day.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for leaving a review of our Neuschwanstein Castle day trip. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful tour and best tour guide.
Terri_B
, Jul 2022
Very friendly staff and tour guides. Stevo very much entertained while bringing King Ludwig to life in a real way. Couldn’t have asked for anything better.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the nice review Terri! :)

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich
Likely to Sell Out
Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

star-4.52639

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.05

star-4.51814

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.05

star-5770

10 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$174.87

star-4.5315

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$34.15

star-4.5389

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.05

star-4.566

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$50.70

star-4.535

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$78.64

star-598

10 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$56.91

star-5261

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$35.18
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations