Recent Searches

Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Geneva, Switzerland
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Discover the allure of the European Alps on a full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe, from Geneva. With a guide, travel through the splendor of the countryside to Chamonix, a picturesque Alpine town. Upgrade options include ticket to ascend the Aiguille de Midi peak in a modern cable car; a scenic railway ride to Montenvers, home to Mer de Glace; and a French-style lunch in Chamonix.
  • Full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc in France from Geneva, led by a professional guide
  • Drive through the Arve Valley to Chamonix
  • Choose from different tour options to suit your preferences
  • Ride the cable car to the summit of the Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
  • Marvel at spectacular views of the Swiss, French, and Italian Alps, including Mont Blanc and the Matterhorn
  • Hop aboard the cog railway to Montenvers and enjoy a 3-course lunch in Chamonix (if option selected)
  • Tour includes round-trip travel from Geneva

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour offers both independent sightseeing and a guide on the coach to give you the scoop on Mont Blanc.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Cable car ride to summit of Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
Train ride to Montenvers (if option selected)
Lunch (if option selected)
Skip the line tickets
Guide if more than 10 people or driver guide for small groups
Geneva Bus Station , 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

Place Dorcière 1201 Geneva

8:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Select from a variety of options and customize your tour according to your preferences. The guide provides historical insight on the region, and then climb aboard a comfortable coach in central Geneva to begin your journey. Admire stunning scenery as you drive to the Alpine village of Chamonix and marvel at the village’s majestic location at the foot of Mont Blanc on arrival.

Select from the tours listed in the Itinerary section to determine the schedule and price of your day in Chamonix and Mont Blanc. Please note from November 6th to December 15th is the annual closure of the Aiguille du Midi.
Stop At:  
Board our bus to Chamonix Mont Blanc, the bus will have the name of the tour
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Aiguille du Midi
If option selected - Ride up the cable car and discover a spectacular panoramic view of the Chamonix Valley and the French, Swiss and Italian Alps at 3842m ! On a clear day, you may even see the Mattherhorn, the famous Swiss peak and icon of Switzerland – it’s even found on packages of delicious Toblerone chocolate. If it’s open, you can try the unique adventure: "Step into the Void" BREATHTAKING! ( queue can be expected for the step into the void/glass box)
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Statue of Balmat and Saussure
Take a photo of the most famous Alpinistes
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Montenvers - Mer de Glace Train
If option selected - Discover the well known Ice Sea, take the mountain train until the Montenvers station and enjoy the panorama. If you feel brave and if it's open ( not guarateed), you can go down the small gondola and the 500 steps to visit the Ice Caves
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Explore the stunning alpine scenery of Chamonix in the French Alps. Chamonix is a picturesque town and the most famous mountain resort in France; from everywhere in the city if you look at the sky …you will see It – The roof of Europe – The Majestic Mont-Blanc. Enjoy the bus ride to the third natural mountain spot most visited in the world.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for children aged 2 and under
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Please dress appropriately for a day in the mountains; even if it is warm and sunny in Geneva, it can be cold and wet in Chamonix or at the top of the Aiguille du Midi and on the Mer de Glace
  • The operation of the Aiguille du Midi cable car and Mer de Glace train are both subject to local weather conditions on the day
  • Please note there is unplanned maintenance on the Aiguille du midi cable car at the moment, an alternative cable car will be offered with a similar view
  • If one of the activity closes, there will be alternative offers, or partial refunds, but the transports won't be refunded in any case
  • Please note that the official currency of France is the EURO. Swiss francs are unlikely to be accepted in Chamonix
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel, as you will be travelling from Geneva (Switzerland) to Chamonix (France)
  • Please note: guide will be present with you on the bus and the village. You will have free time in the cable car or train and the guide will meet you after.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours (Switzerland)
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
What is the policy on sanitization during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
What is the social distancing policy during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Note to anyone going on this tour - it is extremely cold and windy - dress warmly and wear proper shoes!" See review
  • "If the weather is good, and the Mer de Glace glacier is open to visit, Montenvers is a must." See review
  • "The Mt Blanc gondola is subject to weather conditions, especially winds, even when the weather is otherwise clear." See review


765 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 765 reviews
Beautiful place to see
, May 2022
Easy to book, well explained. Beautiful scenery...outstanding place to see. However booking details offer a lunch option. There was not a lunch option and I couldn't get a refund either. Tour operator said its not available although I selected on Viator
Good trip, mediocre planning, prepare as if no Guide.
, Apr 2022
Day trip was good. Was informed last minute no guide would be available. Wasn’t the biggest deal but the cheap refund (28CHF for 3 peoples worth of tickets) and the lack of guidance to prepare really left us wanting more. The transportation was good to the city. We did the Montevers train but not the Aigle do Midi lift. If you only do one or neither of these items it’s FAR too much time in the small city of Annecy. A departure around 2:30/3 instead of 5 if no one does both activities would make much more sense. 5:15 departure is really 5:15 departure don’t go to the bus station early hoping that the bus will be there and you can sit or relax before hand you can’t.
Guide was awesome. We...
, Apr 2022
Guide was awesome. We took the English speaking tour and the guide (Kin) was very helpful. She shared plenty of useful information not only for this trip but our entire stay. The views are amazing and well worth it. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Good morning, Thank you very much for your review. We will forward your message to kim. We are very happy you enjoy the tour, the itinerary and the views. Chamonix is a must see if you come to geneva. Best regards and enjoy the rest of your holiday
Waste of money and a terrible experience. Worst ever Viator tour we’ve ever experienced yet…
, Apr 2022
We called the tour operators Swiss Tours regarding our complaint yesterday so they should have a record of this. The tour was absolutely terrible in every way and we wish to seek a complete refund. First, we were picked up on time at 8.30am by a non English speaking driver who drove us in Silence to Chamonix. No information about where we were heading, no guiding, no info on surroundings, not even when we crossed the border or went through passport control into France… The only 2 words he spoke where ‘ not Chamonix’ when everyone got up when the bus stopped to let off some skiers at a stop earlier. When we finally arrived in Chamonix we were so pleased to be met by our so called ‘tour guide’ Thomas who spoke ‘English’ and who we all thought would be our guide for the day and start telling us all about our surrounds and about Mont Blanc and everything we were about to see. But how wrong we were… He merely gave us 2 tickets. One was for the cable car which he said was number 30 (half an hour wait) and then another ticket for the railway for later. All the info he gave us was to be on the 12.30pm cable car back down so we could be on the next bus at 1pm to go to the train . We asked him what we should do up the top of the cable car, and he said ‘just have a look around’. We asked if he was coming up with us, he said no, he got sick at the top and never goes up there, plus he had another group to look after. We went up the cable car. We had 2 hours up there. We had no idea what we were to do up there. My sister has terminal bone cancer and is not a well person and suffered quite badly with altitude sickness while we were up there. She spent most of the time up there in the cafe or bathroom throwing up and feeling quite unwell and freezing cold. We found 2 gentlemen from our tour and asked them if they could go down and let Thomas know that Laura was unwell and that we would be late coming down and to wait for us. One of the guys stayed with us as she was quite unwell and one of them got the 12.50pm cable car back down to base and arrived back down at 1.07pm (7 mins late) and Thomas and the bus had left already. He ran to the bus station to try to find him and the bus, but no luck. Four of us made it back down to base at 1.15pm and met up with the 5th guy and all of us waited till 1.30pm in and around the bus station and square. We realised we had all been left behind…. We were furious and frightened. We had all paid a lot of money for this very expensive ‘guided’ tour and we’d been left. We found a very helpful lady in the bus info office who guided us to the mountain train station and explained that was where they would be going, so we walked about 20 minutes (even though my sister was in agony and feeling very unwell) and found the train ourselves. We got on the train. Again all alone and made our way to Glacé de Mer. We called the tour company several times and asked them to get Thomas to ring us. While we were on the train we got a call from our guide ‘Thomas’ who said he waited a few minutes but couldn’t wait all day as he was very busy and had to look after 2 tours that day and he had to think about the other people on the tour. He said he usually goes with the tour party but today he was just too busy… I believe this was a complete waste of money. We had no guide, no service, no idea of what we were looking at. We didn’t know there were 500 steps down to the ice caves (Laura would never have been able to have managed that). Had Thomas had been up at the cable car summit with us he could have offered care and help with Laura if he’d been there. We wouldn’t have had to walk 20 mins to the train station, rather driven by bus which we’d paid for if we’d not been left behind. Plus we could have enjoyed lunch in Chamonix if we’d not wasted nearly an hour trying to find out what tge hell we were to do after being stranded…. Please contact me about this as we have used Viator many times before and we have had many wonderful tours with your company in the past. Thank you Alison
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Good morning, We are very sorry to read your email. We feel very sorry about your sister condition. In fact, you take the bus from Geneva to Chamonix, and this is where you meet the mountain guide, on the spot. He was a english speaker. Before the tour started, the office gave you the map prior so you can read uduring the drive. The person in the office explained the timings and did mention the 5 pm. You had the cable car and the train booked. So the guide on the arrival in Chamonix gave you the pass and explained how the day is going to be. We do have a reservation on the cabin 30 for the tour, otherwise the queue if you buy on the spot is about 2 hours for the cable car. You receive a map with the village of Chamonix, where to take the cable car, where to find restaurants and where to find the mountain train. The guide also explained that you can go through the green line or by fast track if you were late. All the timings are written on it. Chamonix is a small village and all streets are pedestrian. When you go up with a cable car, the main attraction is the view from the terraces. You are on the highest mountain of Europe with views on the Alps. It's free time to snap pictures or have a coffee, the point is to have the view from the top. You didn't book lunch so the guide have lunch with people who booked lunch and then meet the group again for the mountain train which is 5 minutes walking. Then the train ride is 20 minutes, you arrive on the glacier, the 500 steps are not mandatory, if you feel tired, you don't have to do it and can stay on the terrace. We are very sorry you feel bad about the tour, it's all mentionned about the steps on the itinerary, the guide will be present with you on the bus and the village. You will have free time in the cable car or train and the guide will meet you after. The high altitude is not recommanded for sick people. We have forwarded your demand to complaint department.
1 traveler found this review helpful
The customer service of Swiss Tour could be better.
, Apr 2022
No tour guide. Thus, they have refunded CHF28. There’s a lovely cafe “A Little Box” opposite the Chamonix Mont Blanc bus station. Do take the Mini Shuttle Bus to get to the Montenvera train station.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Good morning, After the covid pandemic, with les than 4 people, we refund the guide part and explain how to do the tour. Thank you for review anyway, we are glad you enjoyed the mountain
Awesome trip
, Apr 2022
Amazing trip, lovely place and great guide who kept us busy with lots of information. Very well organised
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello, Thanks for your good rating. We are very happy to read this kind of review. The all team try to do their best everyday to organise this tour, we are delighted that it is bearing fruit :) Kind regards,
Very disappointing!!
, Mar 2022
Very badly organised, no time to fully enjoy the full experience everything was a rush,no information you had to exchange your voucher for tickets at the cable car or the train. It was very badly organised and very bad value for money!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello Patrina, we are very surprised to read your review. We don't understand why you had to exchange your tickets because the one our guide gave you was for both activities.We do our best to make sure that our guests have time to enjoy the activities on site, we are sorry if you find it too short. For the next time it might be better not to take an organized tour, and go independently so you can manage your time as you wish. Kind regards,
, Oct 2021
We paíd to go to Aiguille du Midi, but when we arrived to the bus, they said us, that we can’t go there this day, for maintenance! without prior notice, they did not warn us that the activity had been suspended. We came from another country to go exclusively to Montblanc. If they had noticed, we would have changed the date of the trip. We had a great disappointment, IT WAS MY GIFT TO CELEBRATE MY 70 YEARS, OF MY FAMILY !!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Good morning, We are sorry you felt dissapointed with the tour. When the cable car is close, we propose an alternative cable car to Glacier 3000 which has a similar view and the experience is a amazing. We do offer an alternative for you not to be dissapointed, If you refuse, you get full refund for the tour. Again very sorry for the day, we hope you enjoyed Geneva.
2 travelers found this review helpful
We paid for this trip to...
, Sep 2021
We paid for this trip to have guid and lunch included then we are surprised they canceled that when we arrived The amount we paid it’s so much expensive for only transport to the chamonix nothing else even the ticket was given to us for the train and Cable car its cheaper in chamonix and no big line you can take it from anywhere there It’s much better you rent a car enjoy your day comeback any time you want
2 travelers found this review helpful
Best way to see everything with no stress!
, Aug 2021
After reading mixed reviews I was worried this would be a bad experience. It wasn’t. It was amazing. The bus ride was comfortable and along the way Niels told us interesting facts about Geneva and Chamonix. Once we arrived we were given clear instructions and were taken care of and knew where to go all day. We did all the extras and I’m so glad we did. Such an unforgettable day!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hello, thank you so much for such a nice review! We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your tour in Chamonix and hope you left with memories of a lifetime. We hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon! Regards, The Keytours Team

Compare Similar Experiences

Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva


10 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



6 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation



9 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



11 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do