Recent Searches
Clear
Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour

Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour

|
Firenze, Italy
Safety measures
icon1 hour 10 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Safety measures
icon1 hour 10 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Don’t worry—here are some similar options

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Safety measures
icon1 hour 10 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Get inside one of Florence's best-known buildings on this skip-the-line guided tour of the Duomo, including its famous dome. Climb to the top of the Cupola to enjoy spectacular views over Florence and to see Vasari's beautiful frescoes up close.
  • Skip-the-line tour of the cathedral and dome in Florence
  • Climb into the iconic dome of the Florence Duomo to see its amazing construction
  • See Vasari frescoes and stained glass windows up close
  • Enjoy incredible views over the city from the top of the dome
  • Get a tour of the cathedral's interior after visiting the dome
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide for the Dome
Headset
Entrance Reserved Tickets Valid for 72h
With the ticket you can enter the Dome, Bell Tower, Baptistery, Museum and Crypt
Lunch
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Porta della Mandorla (Almond Door) , Piazza del Duomo, 15r, 50129 Firenze FI, Italy

Meeting Point is Porta della Mandorla

This activity will end right where it started.
Meet your guide outside the dome's entrance and bypass the often-long queue with your skip-the-line ticket.

As you climb the 463 steps to the top of the cathedral's dome, learn about how the construction of the egg-shaped Cupola wasn't done until long after the cathedral was otherwise finished—leaving a gaping hole in the building for decades. Filippo Brunelleschi's revolutionary design for the dome within a dome is still widely revered among architects and was the largest dome in the world at the time it was completed.

From inside the dome, enjoy a wonderful view of parts of the cathedral you don't normally get to see—including Vasari's 'Last Judgement' frescoes—as well as spectacular views outside the cathedral overlooking the historic city of Florence.

Climb back down from the dome with your guide for a brief guided visit inside the cathedral itself to conclude the tour. Admire its Gothic interior, designed by Arnolfo di Cambio and Brunelleschi.

Please note: Most of the time on this tour is spent in the dome with a brief tour of the cathedral at the end. Your ticket allows you to stay in the cathedral after the tour concludes, and also gives you entry to the Baptistery and the Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (no skip-the-line access for those). There is no skip-the-line entry for the Duomo from November 1-March 31.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Cupola del Brunelleschi
Climb 463 steps to go to the top of the Dome and enjoy a 360 degree stunning panorama over the whole city... breathtaking!!!
Duration: 1 hour 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Visitors are required to climb 463 steps. No elevator available
  • The climb is not advised for people suffering from heart diseases/problems, vertigo and claustrophobia
  • ACCESS to the complex and VISIT TIMES may be subject to changes due to extraordinary events and depending on the guidelines of the Opera del Duomo
  • Rain policy: the tour may be cancelled due to rain, Alternatively, clients will be offered to join the Duomo Complex Tour on the same day at the same price
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • For children's reductions a valid I.D. is required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • MANDATORY USE OF MASK AND LATEX GLOVES
  • GUIDED TOUR INCLUDED IN THE RELATED OFFER
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY ACCORD Italy Smart Tours & Experiences
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour.

Traveler Tips


  • "Wear good shoes, easy climb but avoid if heights are a issue." See review
  • "Also, if you have a fear of heights or claustrophobia, this tour may not be for you." See review
  • "The climb of 463 steps gets steep and narrow sometimes, but there are a few breaks along the way." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
261 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 261 reviews
star-5
Amazing!
Salvatore_C
, Aug 2022
Nice tour with Vittoria our tour guide ...she did an excellent works talking about the dome and all the construction of it..even when she was climbing the stairs of the dome. 451 steps. the painting of the celling is fantastic! Recommend
star-4
Excellent Tour
Derek_B
, Aug 2022
The entire structure and ornate interior as well as the ascent to the top and the views around Florence.
star-5
The Duomo was absolutely...
Christopher_G
, Jul 2022
The Duomo was absolutely stunning in so many ways. Our tour guide Vittoria was very knowledgeable, charismatic, and funny. She truly enhanced our experience and constantly made sure we felt comfortable.
star-5
Excellent view from top of Duomo!
Lisa_S
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide was excellent! She gave so much history and detail and allowed enough time to rest at the 2 stopping points. The view from the top is spectacular! She even took my photo!
star-5
Fantastic experience!! I
Shayne_L
, Jul 2022
Our guide Wes fantastic there were only 4 on our tour and she was so knowledgeable and encouraged us on those many steps!! Well with the 463 steps up! Stunning!
star-1
Buyer beware!
David_R
, Jul 2022
We paid $145 for 2 people to climb and tour the duomo WITH A TOUR GUIDE. Day before we received a text saying not enough people for tour, they will refund us but still give us the tickets to climb on our own. We show up to get tickets and there is a page long list of people so I don’t know why they said they didn’t have enough? The cost of the tickets had we bought them on our own was $60 . So we’re expecting a refund of $85. Instead, we were issued a $48 refund, with the tour company pocketing the difference of $37. Viator will do nothing to give us the remainder. Save yourself the headache, just go buy Duomo tickets on your own. Or find another tour where the tour guides actually give you a tour and earn their money.
star-5
Amazing experience
Paulina_C
, Jul 2022
This tour is a must if you're visiting Florence! Amazing experience. Not advisable if you're claustrophobic or cannot climb 400+ stairs. Space is tight. The view from the top makes it all worth it.
star-1
Overpriced and not worth it
Philip_C
, Jul 2022
Not worth the price $150 Not worth $15 Overpriced and Rather do it on my own Xxxxxxxxxxxxx. Ssssdsss.
star-5
Ilaria was wonderful! She...
Juhi_D
, Jul 2022
Ilaria was wonderful! She was energetic, happily answered any questions we had, and was very knowledgeable
star-1
I want my money back
Martin_B
, Jul 2022
The guide left os on the top of the dome so we didn’t get the product that we paid for. Terrible guide proformens and bad language skills …. The dome was nice tho
star-5
Great.
Rolfe_V
, Jul 2022
I don’t think Viator has done a great job identifying their tour starting location in Italy. My experience in Spain a few years was much better in that sense. Our tour guide however was absolutely fabulous. I would totally recommend this tour. Nice to see if the corporates do anything to improve their presence.
star-5
Excellent tour Duomo
Christine_W
, Jun 2022
The tour guide was very smart and helpful she explained all the details to us about the Duomo and was very nice
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your 5 stars review, Christin! We are pleased to hear you had a very good time with our guide and that you loved the view from the Dome's top. We hope to see you in the future for new experiences in and around Florence! Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-5
A must do!
Craig_W
, Jun 2022
Trying to locate redemption point to get tickets was confusing. This should be an easier and more accommodating process. Our tour was great and our guide Eva was wonderful and made it more enjoyable!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for leaving your 5 star review! We are sorry, in high season can happen some confusion around the meeting point! We are happy that the tour was fantastic and that you enjoyed your time with our guide! Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-5
Beautiful dome journey lies ahead
Jennifer_R
, Jun 2022
Wonderful knowledge sharing of the history, architecture and artistry by our sweet and lovely guide Viktoria . This tour is not for the faint of heart, a lot of stairs (almost 600) and in tight conditions. But the dome artwork is beautiful and the view from the top spectacular.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for leaving us your review, Jennifer! We agree with you. The climb, as the tour description says, it is not advised for people suffering from heart diseases/problems, vertigo and claustrophobia. We are glad you loved the view from Dome's top and our guide! We hope to see you in the future for new experiences in and around Florence! Kind regards ACCORD Tour
star-4
Great tour!
MARIAH_B
, Jun 2022
The tour guide was amazing and the view was incredible. If you don’t like steep tight spaces though be wary it gets steep walking to the top.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for leaving us your review, Maria! We agree with you. The climb, as the tour description says, it is not advised for people suffering from heart diseases/problems, vertigo and claustrophobia. We are glad you loved the view from Dome's top, it is an experience not to be missed!! We hope to see you in the future for new experiences in and around Florence! Kind regards ACCORD Tour
star-2
Waste of money
Orlee_U
, Jun 2022
Don’t waste your money on this tour. The guiding is non existant - no explanations, no consideration of his guests. All he did was led the way - an idiot could have done this
star-3
Gorgeous view
Caroline_O
, Jun 2022
Knowledgeable tour guide, didn’t actually skip the line but didn’t have to wait long. It’s a beautiful view, definitely do the trip!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Carolin, thank you for leaving us your review. Your opinion is always very important to us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and that as per product you did not have to wait to enter the Cathedral and enjoy the beautiful view from the top of the dome! Thank you for your feedback We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-5
our guide was great
Bala_K
, Jun 2022
The guide was on time waiting and greeting us at the location. She climbed the dome with us explaining the history behind the the construction of the dome.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for leaving us your review, Bala! It's well appreciated and having our clients feedback is very important to help us improving our service. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Dome and our guide! We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards ACCORD Team
star-2
Rude guide cut in front of people.
Jeanne_S
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide was late and the “skip the line part” was apparently the tour guide cutting the huge line of people who were already in line with their timed tickets. She asked them what time they had and then just put our group of six in the line ahead of people. Very rude and uncomfortable. We left after this. The ticket did get us in to the other sites of the church and babtistry and museum so it wasn’t a total wash. But the guided tour part was a fail.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Jeanne_S, thank you for your review! Sorry for the delay of our guide, something must have happened that did not allow him/her to arrive on time. As far as our guide's behaviour towards the other people in the queue, you should know that the entrances to the dome are very very strict, past the appointed time the door is closed. If the guide gone ahead it is because she/he realised that those people had bought the entrance after yours, you should be happy that the guide asserted your right to enter in the right time. However, in high seasons it is difficult to move around in front of the entrance and chaotic moments can occour. We do our best to offer the best service, thanks again, your opinion is always very important. Kind regards Accord Team
star-5
Worth the climb
Jennifer_G
, Jun 2022
Worth the climb! Views from the top and inside the dome were amazing and our guide, Valentina, was excellent and very knowledgeable.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Jennifer, thank you for your review. Your opinion is always very important. We are glad you enjoyed our service and our guide Valentina 😊 We hope to see you in the future for new experiences! Kind regards Accord Team

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour

star-4261

1 hour 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$71.95

star-5255

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$99.06

star-584

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$52.14

star-5371

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$98.02

star-3.53

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$40.67

star-4.539

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.94

star-5168

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$134.51

star-4.5125

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$51.09
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations