Recent Searches
Clear

Florida Bioluminescence Kayaking Tour | Haulover canal (Titusville)

star-4.5179 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Mims, United States
Florida Bioluminescence Kayaking Tour | Haulover canal (Titusville)

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Prebook to secure the opportunity to see the natural wonder of bioluminescence on an evening kayaking trip on Florida’s Indian River Lagoon or Banana River. Paddle the waters to view the bioluminescence—neon-blue lights caused by dinoflagellate microorganisms. See your paddle illuminate the water, look for fish in the blue-lit shallows, and absorb the otherworldly atmosphere and mangrove scenery. Includes equipment, instruction, and choice of departures for ease.
  • See bioluminescence on a night Indian River Lagoon or Banana River kayak tour
  • Prebook to ensure you see the neon blue lights of tiny river algae
  • See your paddle light the water, view fish, and enjoy the surreal setting
  • Includes equipment, guide, and choice of time slots to make everything easy
Saved to wishlist!
Our bioluminescent kayak tours last for approximately 90 mins. You will get wet to some extent, so plan to bring some towels and wear appropriate footwear.
INCLUDED: KAYAK, PFD, PADDLES AND HAPPY GUIDES
MAX WEIGHT: 300LBS FOR A SINGLE, AND 600LBS FOR A TANDEM
Beverages, bug spray, towels, snacks etc
Haulover Canal Kayak Launch , Haulover Rd SW, Mims, FL 32754, USA

* Please arrive 30 mins prior to tour time. We will begin a safety orientation 15 mins prior to launch time, if you miss the start of orientation, you will miss your tour. Google search this exact phrase... "Haulover Canal kayak Launch, Titusville FL. (it may say "Mims FL".

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Our bioluminescent kayak tours last for approximately 90 mins. You will get wet to some extent, so plan to bring some towels and wear appropriate footwear.
  • Peak season is July – October with sightings as late as January
  • LAUNCH SITE: Haulover Canal, Titusville; and Kiwanis Island Park, Merritt Island
  • TRIP LENGTH: 90 MINS
  • COST PER PERSON: $65
  • INCLUDED: KAYAK, PFD, PADDLES AND HAPPY GUIDES
  • MAX WEIGHT: 300LBS FOR A SINGLE, AND 600LBS FOR A TANDEM
  • AGE RANGE: 5+
  • SUGGESTIONS TO BRING: AQUATIC FOOTWEAR, BUG SPRAY, TOWEL, SUNSCREEN, CASH FOR TIPS (optional), AND A WATER BOTTLE
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Florida Adventurer - Bioluminescent Kayaking
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
179 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 179 reviews
star-3
Not what I expected
Jennifer_D
, Aug 2022
It was not what I expected. There were not clear kayaks and the water is not glowing blue. It turns blue only when you make motion in the water. But it was peaceful and the guides tried to find wildlife.
star-5
The Bioluminescence tour is so worth it! Get outside and enjoy Florida!
camnickj
, Aug 2022
The guides Trevor, Kyle, and Crystal did a great job of keeping everyone together in the dark and making this a safe and memorable experience. Seeing the glowing bioluminescence in the dark lagoon is a one of a kind experience, we saw so many fish, crabs, and rays streaking thru the water leaving a magical trail, it was simply amazing.
star-5
Unique and not for the faint heart
Meng_T
, Jul 2022
Requires some good kayaking skills because you will be kayaking in the dark. The blue glow was good.
star-4
Get there early
Edward_W
, Jul 2022
The experience doesn't get captured on your camera phone but trust me it's just as wild in person. Absolutely breathtakingly beautiful. We saw neon squid, schools of fish and dolphins! We had a rough start. We passed our left turn on the dark dirt road and making a u-turn was nearly impossible so we drove in reverse. We parked the car at 9:47. By the time we walked over to the table and Freedom greeted us it was 9:51. She was *thrilled* to tell us we were too late because it was 51 after and their cut off time was 46. That was the happiest ive seen her. I checked the site and could not find that in the before you go section. Her personality was not welcoming and made us feel uncomfortable. The other 2 newer ladies tried to rectify the situation and I am grateful for them. I was paired up with a stranger. There were multiple times where he said let's do X Y Z because he doesn't want to get yelled at by Freedom. Freedom if you're reading this, you have the personality of a hungry alligator. Eat a snickers and find gratitude for the lovely experience you get paid to witness every night. To the other ladies thank you for salvaging the experience. We'll definitely be back.
star-3
Tough kayak
Tina_B
, Jul 2022
Very stromy weather, thought it would of been cancel. Wind was very strong, couple of people who were not experienced kayakers ended up in the water. Maybe more thought should be considered when taking out inexperienced kayakers out in the dark with rain , wind and not understanding what to be expected of them . We are experienced kayakers taking our grandkids out but it was a tough ride and paddle. Glad we knew what we were doing.
star-5
Fun times on the waterways!
Stacie_K
, Jul 2022
Josh and faith were awesome! Very fun experience. Would highly recommend them as tour guides. Once in a lifetime experience!
star-5
Loved it
Megan_S
, Jul 2022
Very beautiful opportunity. Enjoyed being able to see all the animals. Josh and Faith were awesome guides and always willing to answer any questions.
star-5
The water is much more...
Justin_h
, Jul 2022
The water is much more glowing than I expected. It's so blue and beautiful. Would love to come back again.
star-5
Amazing sight to see illumination
Jenna_P
, Jun 2022
Zach was a great guide. Flexible for all the different levels of kayaking experience in our group. Friendly and helpful!
star-4
Kayak night tour
Scott_G
, Jun 2022
The weather was great, all boats were fun and friendly folks. Beautiful views of water as seen on website videos.
star-4
Luminescence
Janice_W
, Jun 2022
I was in the back. The guide was in the front. I don't think I heard anything she said. We needed more explanation at the beginning as to where we were going and how often we would be stopping. And who we should be following. There were at least two different groups leaving at the same time and part of my party got lost and went with the wrong group. The excursion itself was fun and I very much enjoyed seeing the luminescence. The driving directions were good to get there.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Not good
Nicholas_H
, Jun 2022
Although the tour was beautiful just in its self, our main tour guide rusted through this supposed to be 90 minute tour to only 60 minutes. She kayak’s much faster than the whole group as we tried to keep up but also missed opportunities to slow us wildlife along the shoreline. She maybe pointed out 3-4 birds but if you weren’t right next to her you’ll miss it because she didn’t include the whole group. Chad was the only reason why we got on this tour as we waited around looking for this company for 40 minutes realizing they were already in the water! This was 40 minutes from when the tour was supposed to start!! She told chad to make us reschedule!! He really got us in the water in less than 10 minutes but really he should be the guide not that lady who was very non engaging. BK kayak was the ones who helped us even find the group so I’ll use them next time.
star-5
Will was great (and...
Danya_O
, May 2022
Will was great (and really fast!). It was such a great experience. The bugs were crazy but that's not your fault and big spray was provided. Thank you!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing!
Sydney_S
, May 2022
We had an amazing time kayaking under the stars with the bioluminescence shining brightly underneath us. Josh was very educational and friendly and kept us all safe!
star-5
Fun experience
Christopher_G
, May 2022
Fun time on the water and the instructors were very nice. They took the time to explain kayaking before going out. Peaceful at night!
star-5
Amazing time on the...
Andy_R
, May 2022
Amazing time on the water. I would recommend the 10pm booking to get a better experience. The three women that guided us were amazing and very knowledgeable.
star-1
Want a refund
Anne_T
, Apr 2022
1. It was unsafe. We lost two members of the kayak group. 2. Two guides argued about the route to take. 3. The two guides commented to each other that we were uncooperative. 4. While on the water, we ended up nowhere near or guides. They both put out infomaton that changed. 5. Some of the group got frustrated with confusion and a couple of kids were crying, which was ignored by the guides. 6. The briefing for paddle instructions was good. However there were no instructions on if the kayak tipped or how to get out. 6. There were no weather advisories regarding high winds or the strong current we experienced. There was no mention of a chance that there would be no bioluminescence present. When I asked, the guide said keep padding . We never saw what we traveled 250 miles each way to see. It was wet, cold, and dangerous. With nothing to see. I complained about my back spasmming and they said keep padding! Other reviewers also commenting on seeing but we were not told thi! Everyone in our group felt the same. We want a full refund for our group. You may contact me at this number to make it right
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello, and thank you for paddling w/us and leaving a review. Let's go thru these 1 by 1. You chose a bioluminescent kayak tour. You say you read our website, so you then you know there are 2 seasons of bioluminescence and you happen to come between the 2 seasons changing, so neither is at peak viability. We do not conrotl the weather. Not everyday in Florida will be a postcard. You said we gave a good orientation, if you were unable to paddle w/the group, then it's a personal issue, ad the rest of the group that you couldn't keep up with had the same instructions. We do not use "sit in" kayaks, so if you roll over in our kayaks, you are automatically ejected and can stand up. Not something we typically spend much time on. If you were falling behind while asking more questions than paddling, it makes sense for your guide to have asked you to keep paddling. We can not speak to you speaking for other guests. Unfortunately we do not refund for any of these issue you encountered. Thank you for paddling with us. We suggest thoroughly checking the weather forecast, or call us prior to booking and we can help advise you about the booking window you're considering.
star-2
Unhappy travelers
Thomas_W
, Apr 2022
Could not understand tour guide, kept everyone on top of each other, nothing to see, just dark and lots of mosquitoes. Would not recommend, should not do tours when out of season, should be closed
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello and thank you for your review. This is a kayak tour through the Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge. We do keep everyone in a group, since it's a group tour. We can not have guests paddling willie nillie through our wildlife refuge at night by themselves, that would reckless endangerment. So yes we do have 2 seasons of bioluminescence in Florida, unfortunately it sounds like you may not have read about our season thoroughly. We have a cooler season (Bioluminescent Comb jelly-fish) and a warmer season (dinoflagelatte plankton). Wind will play a role in visibility w/the jellyfish. We can not control the day/evening that you made your reservation. Unless a wind advisory is issued, our tours will still go out as there are still a multitude of things to see and explore and people spend weeks looking forward to thier tour. So we do not take canceling tours lightly, we will do our best to ensure all tours go out safely. As our website states, we do not/can not guarantee nature. I hope this helps bring you some understanding as to why are tours are not closed.
star-4
We really enjoyed the...
Lilli_V
, Apr 2022
We really enjoyed the kayaking, just wish "we only go as fast as the slowest kayak" would have be more accurate. Six kayaks and the guide went so fast that three of us plus the other two guides lost site of them and went a ways the wrong way. Thanks to Mike and Tyler we finally got turned back around and found the group. Unfortunately we missed the dolphin but did see the bioluminescent jelly fish.
star-3
Mesmerizing night
Victoria_J
, Mar 2022
The full moon was beautiful. Kayaking by the light if the moon and the stars with a cool breeze was absolutely mesmerizing. Unfortunately, due to construction we weren’t able to go to the Haulover canal. We went off season on the wrong days, but it fit our schedule. I would recommend going in season in the 13-day window for the best experience. Erin & Mike did a terrific job.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Florida Bioluminescence Kayaking Tour | Haulover canal (Titusville)
Florida Bioluminescence Kayaking Tour | Haulover canal (Titusville)

star-4.5179

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-5108

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

star-5521

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-53

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-428

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-594

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-4.5475

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$80.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations