Recent Searches
Clear

Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona

star-4.5466 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Barcelona, Spain
Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

While in Catalonia, gain morning access to the 1,000-year-old  Montserrat Monastery before anyone else on this tour. Just outside of Barcelona, lies the monastery that still functions today. Follow your guide through the area, and admire its pristine architecture. Then, pop into the Museum of Montserrat, if you wish, and explore its galleries with your guide close by to answer any questions along the way.
  • Morning access tour of the Montserrat Monastery
  • Admire the monastery’s Gothic architecture
  • Explore the galleries of the Museum of Montserrat (if option selected)
  • Round-trip transport from a central location in Barcelona

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Early access means you enter the monastery before the crowds arrive.
Saved to wishlist!
Guided Visit with a proffesional Guide
Round transfer from Plaza Catalunya to the Monastery and back
Access to the Throne of the Virgin (if you select the option)
Access to the Audiovisual Room (if you select the option)
Access to the Museum (if you select the option)
Licor tasting (if you select the option)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Passeig de Lluís Companys, 19 , Passeig de Lluís Companys, 19, 08018 Barcelona, Spain

The meeting point is at Arc de Triomf. The bus will be parked at the corner of Passeig de Lluís Companys and Carrer de Trafalgar. The guide will be waiting with an Amigo Tours sign. You can arrive with the subway line 1

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note that the inclusions are different for each option. Please read carefully the inclusions of the option that you have selected.
  • Please note: All tours are run in both English and Spanish
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Amigo Tours Spain
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Take good walking shoes and a coat as it is quite cool early in the morning" See review
  • "Be sure you reserve an early morning trip, as the place fills up as the day wears on." See review
  • "its really better to do it early to avoid the lines and the crowds." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
466 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 466 reviews
star-5
Seeing the basilica and...
John_D
, Aug 2022
Seeing the basilica and the art museum were highlights of the tour for me. The guide was friendly and gave a good introduction for what we saw and what we could do in our free time.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Amig@ John_D Thank you very much for your comments, It was wonderful to have you in this experience. We will be happy to serve you again on your next trip. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Amazing tour!
James_R
, Jul 2022
What a stupendous trip! Amazing tour guide. Once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommend your. Too bad the trails were closed at this time.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Amig@ James_R Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience, we love to know that you enjoyed it to the fullest. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Great for families! Wish we stayed longer!
Laura_C
, Jul 2022
Our tour was wonderful. We opted for the private tour with the guide once we got there and I’m glad we did because I would have been clueless. Then we knew where to go for our free time too. Spent some time in the museum, and then did a liquor tasting that was delicious. Kids got cookies instead! How nice! Skipped the audiovisual area and went to the little farmers market instead and bought some local cheese.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Amig@ Laura_C Thank you very much for your comments, it was a pleasure to be at your service. This kind of experience makes a wonderful family memory. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Amazing experience
Tina_M
, Jul 2022
We loved everything about the tour from the trip there on very nice and comfortable bus, smooth coordination, nice ride to Montserrat. And the experience at the Monastery was amazing. From seeing Our Lady of Montserrat statue and the sacredness of the place and the incredible views. Our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable! We got the private tour and it was totally worth!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Amig@ Tina_M We really appreciate your comments, we love to hear that you had an incredible experience. It will be a pleasure to serve you again on your next trip. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Stunning and educational
Rita_S
, Jul 2022
The monetary is amazing and the history behind it is was worth the trip. The views are magnificent and our tour guide was very friendly, spoke good English and the tour itself was very educational! Beautiful museum also!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Amig@ Rita_S It was beautiful to be able to be at your service, I doubt your visit. Thank you for your trust and for your comments, they encourage us to continue doing an excellent job. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-1
Horrible tour cimpany.
Anne_T
, Jul 2022
We arrived at the posted destination for departure on time and no one was there. They had an alternate destination where the bus/Van would be and it was not there.. We tried to call the tour company and to email them several times, but no one answered or was in the office until 25 minutes until after the tour was supposed to start. They still have not refunded our money a day appear to be giving us the run-around.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Amig@ Anne_T We are very sorry that you could not be part of this experience. With other clients we had on the same day, we had no problem locating the meeting point. You can contact us at aux_calidad@amigotours.com so we can learn more about your case and verify where the mistake was. Dulce, Amigo Tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Not to be missed!
Heidi_D
, Jul 2022
Aenice was a great guide with a super personality. Beautiful bus took us up up up into another World. Breathtaking views calm & tranquility everywhere & immediate access to the Virgin. I plan to return in the future & stay the night! Bravo!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Amig@ Heidi_D We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience. Thank you very much for letting us know. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Fun morning at Montserrat
Irene_H
, Jun 2022
Museum. Surprised to find such a nice curation of art. Tour guide, Lennis, was very informative. Also enjoyed the audiovisual area to hear the boys choir performance.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ Irene_H We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience. Thank you very much for letting us know. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Really great excursion....
Trine_H
, May 2022
Really great excursion. Lot of information from the friendly and helpful guide. Beautiful nature and amazing views.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you for being part of this experience. Thank you for your comments. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Wonderful tour guide,...
Sandra_B
, Apr 2022
Wonderful tour guide, explained everything very well. The visit to the Monastery was excellent. Comfortable bus and a very good driver on the way up the mountain and back to the city.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Amig@ Excellent comment and thank you for your recommendations to future travelers. We hope to see you again soon. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Don't miss this!
Joy_N
, Mar 2022
The bus picked us up right on time, at the right place. The tour guide Gabby spoke English and Spanish depending on who she was speaking to and she was super sweet and knowledgeable. The bus driver had a heart of steel driving up that mountain!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience, we love to know that you enjoyed it to the fullest. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-4
Magic views
Anders_B
, Jan 2022
A breathtaking view and a magic place to visit. I really appreciated to visit the basilica too. The audiovisual centre was less interesting though.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Querid@ Amig@ Nos encanta conocer tus comentarios, agradecemos que hayas formado parte de esta experiencia. Esperamos atenderte en tu siguiente viaje. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-2
This tour does not give enough time to explore all that is included in breath taking Monserrat
SimoneMehlbaum
, Oct 2021
From all the Viator trips I have on in the past decade this was the worst guide. She wasn’t interested at all or passionate about the site. We were stuck in traffic due to an accident in the morning and lost a lot of time, not just 10 minutes to view the Madonna, Basilica, museum and virtual tour and get our cookies as we didn’t drink the liquor. It’s impossible to do all this in 1.5 hours , take a longer tour , this is a beautiful experience. Definitely recommend going early before the crowds come .
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Amig@ Thank you for your comments, we are sorry that you did not enjoy this experience as we had planned, it was a pity that we encountered a traffic accident, it was something that was out of our control, however, our team tried to do our best to make you have an extraordinary experience. We hope you will not be left with this bad taste in your mouth and give us your trust again so we can serve you again on your next trip. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-1
Horrible
Ortiz_J
, Jun 2021
Horrible!! The company changed meeting information at the last minute. There were six of us left behind at original meeting point. We were from Spain, England, Italy, and us from the USA. Now they are deciding to refunds or not. If the touring company decides to change pick up information at 9 night before the tour at 7:15am, it would be necessary to personally contact the customer to make sure they get the information at least via a text. Other companies have the sense and curtesy to do so.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much for letting us know your comments. We have reviewed this issue and we would like to clarify that we were also advised that we would not be allowed to pick up at the old meeting point, due to a new regulation, and we assure you that we tried to solve it as soon as possible. We are sorry that we were not able to serve you as we would have liked. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Nice trip to Montserrat
Mona_M
, Mar 2020
The tour was informative. I wish I had more time. We had to choose between the hike to the cross and the museum. We chose the hike which was lovely.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear Amiga Mona Thank you very much for your great words. We love that you liked our tour from Barcelona and we hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you Best regards
star-5
Monserrat tour
terrygraap
, Jan 2020
The Montserrat tour was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable regarding the monastery. Even though it was quite cold, the tour went well. I recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Amigo Terry, Many thanks for your great words. We love you liked our tour in Barcelona and we look forward to receiving you soon again. Many thanks Kind regards
star-5
A must for every tourist visiting Barcelona and preferably a guided tour is a better option as everything is explained
Desmond C
, Jan 2020
A must for every tourist visiting Barcelona and preferably a guided tour is a great way to enjoy the beauty and its history
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Amigo Many thanks for your great words. We love you liked our tour in Barcelona and we look forward to receiving you soon again. Many thanks Kind regards
star-5
Great morning!
Darlene_R
, Nov 2019
We enjoyed our trip to the Monastery. Our guide was informative and helpful. We had plenty of time there and it was great to get there early before the crowds.The bus ride was comfortable.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear custumer Many thanks for your great words. We love you liked our tour with our guide and we look forward to receiving you soon again. Many thanks Kind regards
star-4
Nice Quiet Monastery
Esther Y
, Nov 2019
I was here last time but it was a lot more crowded. A beautiful structure and I was able to go into the main church
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Esther, Many thanks for your great words. We love you liked our tour in Barcelona and we look forward to receiving you soon again. Many thanks Kind regards AMIGO GROUP
star-4
Montserrat Monastery is a must.
Lucian B
, Nov 2019
If you are visiting Barcelona, do make time for a side trip to Montserrat. The countryside is breathtaking. Be sure you reserve an early morning trip, as the place fills up as the day wears on. There are both guided tours during the ride only and those with added guided tours of the facilities while there. We chose the former and that worked just fine. There are walking tours available, a museum and several restaurants. Remember, the earlier the better.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear customer Many thanks for your great words. We love you liked our tour in Barcelona and we look forward to receiving you soon again. Many thanks Kind regards AMIGO GROUP

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona
Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona

star-4.5466

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.69

star-549

5 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$67.12

star-4.5495

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$64.04

star-54

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$36.71

star-4.528

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$103.83

star-4.591

4 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$40.90

star-514

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.32

star-4.5320

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$28.84
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations